Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
We really loved this recipe! I had to make a lot of changes due to necessity/allergies but that just underscores how great a recipe this is - it is so fantastic because it holds up under heavy manipulation! I do not eat any fish/seafood (not a vegetarian, just don't like fish) so I was concerned that the fish & oyster sauces would be instantly detectable and ruin the dish for me. As the "Most Helpful Positive Review" suggested, I halved the volume of both sauces and I added 2 Tbsp. of soy sauce (I used Rongway's Soy Sauce Substitute found on this site). No fish taste at all, but great flavor. I also used 1/3 cup of peanut oil instead of 1/2 based on other commenters' advice. I used long grain white rice and made a special trip to my local local Asian market but they did not sell Thai basil. They also did not have Thai bird's eye peppers (what kind of Asian market is this???) so I planned to use Sriracha but forgot. I almost didn't make the recipe because so many reviewers were adamant about using Thai basil, but I decided that since I love Italian basil I'd give it a go. I did some research on Thai basil and read that it has a black licorice taste to it, which is a big NOPE for me, so that further cemented my decision to use Italian. My rice was nice and cold, taken straight from the fridge and into the pot...I don't have a wok so I used a Teflon-coated 3-quart stock pot and it was fine. Like I said, many changes but still terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Awesome taste and textures. Added the fish sauce mixture to the wok before adding the chicken. Sadly couldn't find any Thai sweet basil, but the normal basil tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved it! I added more peppers because I like it super spicy, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This has become a favorite. Easy to make and super good. I substitute the white sugar for 2 tbsp brown, it gives it more of a Thai taste, and substitute the serrano peppers for 1-2 tbsp chili paste (Oelek) but you could use more or less depending on your taste for spice. I just use Minute Rice but make it the night before. It's VERY important that the rice is cold when it goes in. Thanks ErinInVegas, this is super good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was delicious! I followed some of the other suggestions such as adding the sauce mixture with the oil prior to adding chicken, also added an additional cup and a half of rice to prevent it from being too "wet". I like really spicy, so in addition I added some Thai chili peppers....what a great dish! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Iovethis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as-is, except that I used baked tofu instead of chicken. It was super yummy! I have a couple of Thai basil plants and this is a great dish to make good use of them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is my husband's favorite Thai dish. We added more oyster sauce and fish sauce, per my husband's request and it was terrific. He took the leftovers to his restaurant and the chef actually asked for the recipe. Not to shabby for a home cook who could barely boil water. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was wonderful! My family loves shrimp so I did a combination of shrimp and chicken. I also fried up a couple of eggs and added it with the rice at the end. A little squeeze of lime over the top and it tasted like the Thai fried rice I have had in restaurants. This is a going straight into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States