Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I prepared the marinade exactly as written. Any substitutions, in my view, would certainly impact the overall flavor intended. We were not disappointed, although hubby thought it was a little salty, even though no additional salt was added. This was a unique combination of marinating ingredients where no one ingredient stood out, creating a flavorful shrimp not dominated or obscured by other seasonings. There is no oil in the recipe, but there IS oil in the curry paste, so if you substitute curry for the curry paste, I'd recommend adding a little vegetable oil to the marinade. We cooked these on the indoor grill on bamboo skewers. I brushed a bit of melted butter over the grilled shrimp skewers for a little richness and shine. Perfect in mere minutes, beautiful and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Stellar. The weather was not conducive to grilling, so I poured the shrimp and the marinade into a skillet and simmered until the shrimp was done. My wife, daughter and I all loved it. My son, well, he is a spice-wuss so he didn't eat, but he said he liked the flavor if it wasn't so hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
The flavor was great on these. I used curry powder sice I didn't have paste. I am giving it a 4 star because they turned out a bit dry. No one else complained of this, so it must have been me though, and not the recipe. I'll certainly make it again though. They were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Great recipe. I used red curry paste, and spicy mustard with the rest of the ingredients, and marinated it overnight. Then I grilled it...totally delicious, and really spicy, due to the amount of paste I used. I had it with grilled pineapple slices on the side. Would be great over rice or noodles for the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was very tasty. I like spicy so much, the second time I made it I didn't put the shrimp on the skewers, I cooked them in a tin foil "boat". Was way to spicy, I'll stick to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
hmmm The sauce was tasty, and I also threw the whole thing in a skillet for a few minutes, then put it on top of South Beach-friendly cauliflower rice and mushrooms...but I didn't taste so much flavor in the shrimp itself, and to marinate it any longer would have turned it to mush (how do you people marinate seafood for a day without that happening??)' I'm going to work on this one, it has great potential...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this for me and my two children, and we all loved it!! I had to make it on the stove, because when I went to light my grill... my grill didn't work!! It was still really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I followed the recipe just as indicated. Other than a kick to them, they were alittle bland for my liking taking into consideration all the ingredients. I would do this again and modify it some what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Good stuff! This had a very unique taste, and was much different than the normal shrimp recipes. Very easy, and quick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
So yummy! Just enough spice and 2-3 fit perfectly on a skewer so there is little mess for your guests! Would also be very tasty over rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States