Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was very tasty. I wasn't able to marinade the shrimp nearly long enough (about 10 min.), but it still turned out super-tasty. I also used curry powder, as I didn't have the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I'm reviewing the marinade since I used a Basa Fillet (grabbing what was available). I also used curry powder & a small dab of Olive Oil, and instead of Dijon I used Garlic/Ginger paste. I put the Basa fillet on some foil like a bowl & marinated it, & put it on the BBQ - the fillet was basically boiling in the marinade on the BBQ. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Kind of bland. I was looking for something a little more zesty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cleghorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
i made this (exactly as written) last night for my boyfriend, and we found it to be good, but nothing stellar. a few things: first, a lot of people commented here said they used curry powder instead of paste. personally i think this would lend the dish and entirely different taste since the two are made up of different things (curry powder often has a more 'indian flavor', whereas curry paste has more of a 'thai flavor.') i dont think they are interchangeable..that could just be me though. second, although im a fan of curry paste, dijon mustard, garlic, and soy sauce, i found that the shrimp tasted more like lemon than anything else in this dish, and like other users, i wished that they wouldve absorbed more of the flavor. the acids from the lemon juice started cooking the shrimp a little as well, so marinating longer wouldve been a bad idea. next time i wont add the lemon juice until right before cooking, and ill probably take it down to 1 tablespoon or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Voelzke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Fantastic sauce. Not only have we used this on shrimp, it make to-die-for baby back ribs. I triple the sauce; marinate them overnight, reserving some sauce for basting. Incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I thought this was fantastic. I was able to use curry powder instead of paste (1 tsp powder) I also used lime juice instead of lemon and I must say I was very impressed and so was my husband. He put it over fried rice and i put it over a sweet potatoe/yam. I double the sauce so I could have extra for gravy. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Grover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These shrimp had great flavor. I had no curry on hand so I used chili powder instead and it came out fine. I also sauteed these as opposed to grilling. My husband couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. I'm not a huge fan of curry so next time I think I'll do like another reviewer and use chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was so good and so easy to make!!! I just made a few minor changes 1) I only had time to marinate the shrimp for about 15 minutes and they were perfect that way, 2) I broiled the shrimp on low broil for about 4-5 minutes on each side and 3) I saved the leftover sauce, heated it and then had it on the side as a dipping sauce. Served this with steamed green beans and couscous. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
One of my favorites. On the bbq in the summer and under the broiler in the winter, these are always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States