Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I prepared the marinade exactly as written. Any substitutions, in my view, would certainly impact the overall flavor intended. We were not disappointed, although hubby thought it was a little salty, even though no additional salt was added. This was a unique combination of marinating ingredients where no one ingredient stood out, creating a flavorful shrimp not dominated or obscured by other seasonings. There is no oil in the recipe, but there IS oil in the curry paste, so if you substitute curry for the curry paste, I'd recommend adding a little vegetable oil to the marinade. We cooked these on the indoor grill on bamboo skewers. I brushed a bit of melted butter over the grilled shrimp skewers for a little richness and shine. Perfect in mere minutes, beautiful and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I tried to cook it on the stove like another person did, but it really didn't taste as good as it probably would have on the grill. I would suggest not even trying it on the stove, and hold out for the grill. It has potential. That's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I ended up cooking this in a skillet, and it still had great flavor. Add a little corn starch mixed with cold water to the pan juices to make a great sauce. Goes well with coconut rice for a more authentic experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Yummy spicy and easy! Since my grill is buried in snow now, I simmered the shrimp in the marinade until opaque, then I added a bit of cornstarch to the remaining marinade to make a sauce. I returned the shrimp to the pan and coated them. I served it with the brazilian white rice from this site for a "mild" side since I wasn't sure how spicy it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
very good Had during last thanksgiving glad to see it up here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Great flavor I don't have very often from the mustard. Easy to make. My partner and I loved it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
My whole family loved this! I actually used Curry powder because I didn't have paste, and because my husband doesn't like spicy things... but it had great flavor! We ate it all, including my 3 yr old that is very picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Great taste. Very good shrimp marinade. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I just squeezed in a small lemon. I couldn't find the curry paste so I had to use curry powder and just sprinkled it in, tasting as I went along (husband doesn't like strong curry flavor). Being that I am lazy, I used my favorite organic garlic powder instead, and added a tiny bit more of the brown sugar. It was a hit and we loved it! I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
So easy and soooo tasty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States