Thai Shrimp Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
wow! very good. I baked these off for a few minutes before grilling. Helped them stay together better. Great flavors that blend nicely together. will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emrald5769
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These were quick to make and tasty. They had some trouble remaining in tact as a burger, but that is probably due to the fact we didn't refridgerate as directed. We put them on 100% wheat Greek Pita Flatbread which was delicious! A little more veggies like some fresh spinach and slices of onion and maybe tomato would've improved it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
these are AMAZING. 1) I used my kitchenaid food grinder for all of the shrimp and it worked beautifully 2) I didn't use as much cilantro, because... i really hate cilantro. 3) I used half a jalapeno because the peanut sauce I use is so spicy. 4) I also served them inside the pita, with the slaw stuffed in with them. 5) I cooked them in a frying pan on the stove. If you do this, be careful! They burn really easily. I learned that if you cook them on medium heat it takes a little longer but they won't burn so quickly. All in all, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wow, are these good! I rarely make repeats, but I've been making these almost weekly since I found the recipe. There is a lot of chopping and prep work, which I try to do in advance; however, the burgers are easy to make, and they taste so clean, fresh and healthy! I haven't fired up the grill for them but have been baking them in my toaster oven instead. I've also morphed these into meatballs and served them over shredded sauteed cabbage and called it Asian Spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great and simple recipe. I just threw everything in the processor and had them ready in about a minute. They are delicate, so I cooked them on the stovetop rather than the grill. They work without the bread as well - served like a crabcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
They weren't terrible but they weren't great to me either. The flavors are really great together but I didn't like the texture of the burger very well. I think it would taste better to just cook the shrimp in the seasonings rather than ground up the shrimp into a burger like that. Maybe I will try this recipe again sometime but with ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
What a hit. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
OK, here it is. First I used cooked shrimp, since that is what I had on hand. Second, if you grill these do it on a piece of foil. They stick crazy bad and you can not flip them. Now with that said... After I managed to salavge some parts of each burger (half remained stuck to grill) and finish grilling on foil. They actually tasted pretty good. So maybe my grilling problem had to do with using cooked shrimp, however they still had good flavor. Oh, yea.. make the slaw it is wonderful! I used the Rainbow salad slaw mix for extra color and crunch. About 1/2 of my guests thought that this was a side dish on its own and ate it without the burger. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I can't say enough about how fantastic these are! Brilliant! I used my Kitchenaid meat grinder to grind all of the shrimp, which made it very painless. I used a bit more cilantro than called for, and added a little light mayonnaise to the slaw rather than oil to make it "creamier". I served it with fresh pita bread from a recipe on this site - so easy. I was worried about the burger falling apart so I added some extra breadcrumbs, but it actually stayed together really well, and the whole concoction just tasted so fresh and wonderful. We re-heated two of them to eat the next day, and it tasted just as good as the day before. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this recipe and it was fantastic. When I was preparing it, my boyfriend thought it looked unappetizing, and was going to make something else. He was glad I made him try it. I used broccoli slaw and it turned out great. If it is packed well, it stays together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States