Thai Salmon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This is a very pretty dish. The dressing was light yet very flavorful. Truely a wonderful summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Beware, you must LOVE basil! I was also a little worried about using Fishsauce in a salad, because it is quite strong in smell and taste. But the combination of fishsauce, lime juice and sugar was quite good and I eagerly looked forward to the finished dish. And then I added the fresh Thai Basil which I have growing in my garden. It nearly ruined the whole dish for me because in that quantity it was just too overbearing! I will do this recipe again, but instead of basil, I think I'll add some green onions or maybe just a hint of basil. Oh yeah, be sure your onions are mild as well - mine weren't. I also used quite a bit of fresh cayenne peppers and was surprised that they weren't hot. Maybe the lime juice obscured their "bite".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
this was delicious. everyone i have made it for has asked for the recipe. you may be put off by the smell of the fish sauce, but it tastes great in the salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Great use for leftover grilled salmon. I used thai basil - which I LOVE, although another reviewer found it to be too strong, and added cucumber, also from the garden - tis the season to try to figure out what to do with an abundance of produce! I did make it a little mild with less chili, and balanced out what to me was too much sour with more brown sugar. Loved by everybody except our 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
This is such a simple and delicious recipe. We eat it once a week. I prepare the sauce and the salmon the day prior and add it to the mixed greens just prior to serving. For my kids, I just omit the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I thought this was very good didnt have the basil so ommitted it. Made it nice and spicey with red chiili thai peppers. Made Pad Thai and this salad my man loved both!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was a great use for a large piece of leftover salmon. Very different, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This was delicious. I added some shredded cucumber and a little sesame oil to the dressing. This is a very fast meal if the salmon has already been cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Very interesting combination of ingredients....loved it! Easy preparation, beautiful presentation, and tastes delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
We agree with the previous comment; The best salad ever!So fresh tasting it made me think of a fabulous cheviche. I suspect the people who gave it less than 5 stars were the ones that replaced some items. Easy to modify to individual taste in regards to spicyness. Another great thing is that you can do all the work in advance, so perfect recipe for entertaining. Great on bib leaf lettuce and some nice warm bread on the side.. We will be making this one again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States