Thai Red Curry Tofu Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Ok, the idea here was good. I used the idea and created my own take. I found it wasn't enough broth, so I used two cans of veggie broth and two cans lite coconut milk and the juice of half a lime. I added 3 teaspoons of red curry paste and a ton of ground red pepper. (i decided against the whole lemongrass etc infusion, because all those flavors are already in the paste and not available in markets here!) I dried my tofu (paper towels, cutting board, and a big squash as weight) then cut it into small cubes. I bought a "mushroom mix" at publix, had fresh oyster, shitaki, and some other kind in the package. I also added some sliced baby bells. I then shredded some cabbage, added it, and cooked it all only about 15 mins on around mid-high heat. I spooned it over white rice and topped with fresh bean sprouts. It was fantastic, my boyfriend and his sister (both non-veggies) loved it. The whole pot went in one night! They ever asked me to make it again! It was a great dinner and all together only cost about 15 bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I love all the ingredients in this, and I've made similar recipes before with chicken and/or shrimp, so I don't know why this didn't really work for us. Maybe we just weren't in the mood for it, but we weren't impressed. The tofu was kinda slimy, and didn't pair well with the rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! I could eat so much of it and my 4 year old and 2 year old asked for seconds too! My husband thought it a tad bland though, but poo on him, it was awesome! I did work with the more ordinary ingredients I had on hand: I skipped the first step altogether because the Thai red curry paste has all of those obscure ingredients anyway. I upped the curry paste to 2 T and it might even have been better for hubby with 3. I added a few green onions, used any old brown mushrooms, and it was delish. Plenty of soup as it's served over the noodles anyway (I probably used more like 8 oz), and I used firm tofu, drained, and it wasn't slimy at all. Don't use silken if you don't like slimy. And I added it in the last 4 minutes only, for fear of the sliminess. You'll love this recipe if you love Thai soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Governors Bay, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
My boyfriend was quite impressed by this soup. I used everything the recipe asked me for except kaffir lime leaves because all of the stores near me were out of stock. He likes meals more on the spicy side so I made sure to double the curry paste and added more red pepper flakes. It still wasn't super spicy but just spicy enough. I also added the tofu at the last 3 to 4 minutes because it doesn't really need that much time to cook. And last, but not least...make sure you don't spill this soup because it stains. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaBina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
very disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent soup!it's very hearty and makes a good main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Lacking in good thai curry flavor to my taste though I used double the curry paste. Perhaps because I used less kaffir and ginger instead of galangal (tip...kaffir leaves are impossible to find so I went to a thai restaurant and paid them $1 for some leaves)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I read the review saying that this recipe didnt make enough broth, so I doubled the amount coconut milk and veggie broth and added about 3 tablespoons of curry paste (I like spicy food). It ended up diluted and tasteless. I'm going to significantly reduce the amount of milk and broth next time, because I think it would have been good otherwise. I also added sliced jalapenos and bamboo shoots for extra spice and more variety in texture. Again, would have been pretty good if I hadn't screwed up the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was soooo good! I didn't have a lot of the ingredients, so I'm sure this would have been even better had I been able to make it correctly! I didn't have lemon grass, galangal, or kaffir. I used leeks instead. Next time I'll try to have everything I need. I also didn't have lime juice, so I used lemon. It turned out so yummy! I can't wait to make it again the "right" way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States