Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. We were stuck in a snow storm and didn't have all the ingredients, but after reading reviews, we had enough to improvise. Added a minced 1-inch piece of fresh ginger, 2 large cloves of garlic, tripled the curry paste, mushrooms instead of zucchini and no carrots. We didn't have any coconut milk, so substituted half and half. And, we forgot to add the cilantro! But it came out fantastic! I want to make it again with the coconut milk, but other than that we loved it the way it came out. Thanks for posting this great recipe! This is definitely something we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Wow! This was really good! I was pleasantly surprised. Definitely authentic resturant quality. But, I made a few changes: I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, lightly salted and peppered the chicken, added 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, doubled the curry paste (I like it spicy) and added bamboo shoots for a really authentic touch. Served it over brown rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe and was really disappointed. Especially since it smelled so good while it was cooking. I did what several people recommended by doubling the red curry paste, adding fish sauce, coriander, sugar, and red peppers. I was really surprised at how little flavor it had, especially after everything I added. I can't imagine what it would have tasted like if I didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Few changes: 1) rub chicken with curry powder night before. 2) Add Thai Chili Peppers for kick. 3) Use Thai Basil instead of cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really good recipe! I used 1/2 light and 1/2 regular coconut milk (all light is too soupy). Also used tofu instead of chicken. We only have small cans of Thai curry paste, and our can recipe says to use the whole thing so I always do. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Amazingly deliciuos and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
With the suggestions from other reviewers, I added coriander, and fresh minced garlic to sesame and olive oil. I didn't have zucchini, so I added green bell peppers along with the red bell peppers and carrots. I used plain rice milk instead of coconut milk, and didn't measure out the red curry paste or peanut butter, but about two large scoops of each was the perfect for us. Served over quinoa. Will make again, and enjoy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe is a great BASE, but to make it taste restaurant quality quite a few changes/additions are needed. Here is a summary of what I've done: (1) Use sesame oil instead of olive oil. Saute grated ginger and fresh pressed garlic in it before adding the chicken. (2) To make it easier to mix with the chicken/veggies, combine in a small bowl the cornstarch, some regular coconut milk, curry paste, 1/3 t coriander, 2 t peanut butter, 2 T fish sauce, fresh ground pepper, and 3 t sugar. (3) You might need to add more sugar...initially we did 2 t and realized that it was missing SOMETHING. Turns out an extra touch of sugar is exactly what was needed. (4) Adding water chestnuts and chopped cashews give a nice crunch. (5) Use basil instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My wife and I absolutely loved this! I can't wait to prepare it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Instead of the veggies called for, I used shrimp, potatos, tofu, onion and red pepper. I used QUITE a bit of red curry paste and it still wasn't very spicy, probably 3. The sauce was pink, not red. It didn't taste too different than the regular curry I made, but my husband says they're not supposed to. I'd never had red curry before. This was pretty good, but if you want it spicy, I'd add red pepper flakes to the sauce while cooking and add 4 tablespoons of red curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States