Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This curry was good but definitely lacking flavor. The light coconut milk makes it a bit runny so perhaps next time I'll add more cornstarch and add extra curry and crushed red pepper to give it more of a kick. Overall easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not authentic. Bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Needed salt! Loved the veggies. Added mushrooms too. Just needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really wish I could have been more generous but all things said, this recipe was a bit blah. Not the punch of authentic flavour I had hoped for. I followed the recipe to a T but before serving, I tasted it and found it severely lacking in flavour. I tried to add some fish sauce, some ginger and some salt but nothing could be done. If I had had a lime, I think the acidity would of benefited the dish but alas, I didn't. And as others have mentioned, the cornstarch was not necessary and threw off the texture. My husband and I are big fans of Gang Garee Gai so I was looking for a similar dish to make at home but this was not it. I'm pretty sure it will not get a repeat performance in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ansleyk21
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made a few changes: -I added some salt, cayenne pepper, and a bit of a chili paste I had to the chicken before I cooked it. -I left out the bell peppers but added some sliced bamboo shoots (you can find this in a can usually in the Asian food isle.) -I didn't use light coconut milk, I had regular. I added that and added 1/2 can of water to it as well so it wouldn't thicken up too much, to0 fast. -Instead of cilantro, I chopped about 3 basil leaves and put them it--IT DEFINITELY MAKES A DIFFERENCE! -I also used baby carrots for the recipe, they make it so small and bite size. I also wanted to add peas to it, but it slipped my head, so if anyone tries it-let me know how it comes out! :] ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great recipe! I made the modifications suggested by other reviewers and loved it! The only change I made was to add red pepper flakes for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe. We were stuck in a snow storm and didn't have all the ingredients, but after reading reviews, we had enough to improvise. Added a minced 1-inch piece of fresh ginger, 2 large cloves of garlic, tripled the curry paste, mushrooms instead of zucchini and no carrots. We didn't have any coconut milk, so substituted half and half. And, we forgot to add the cilantro! But it came out fantastic! I want to make it again with the coconut milk, but other than that we loved it the way it came out. Thanks for posting this great recipe! This is definitely something we'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Wow! This was really good! I was pleasantly surprised. Definitely authentic resturant quality. But, I made a few changes: I used sesame oil instead of olive oil, lightly salted and peppered the chicken, added 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, doubled the curry paste (I like it spicy) and added bamboo shoots for a really authentic touch. Served it over brown rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe and was really disappointed. Especially since it smelled so good while it was cooking. I did what several people recommended by doubling the red curry paste, adding fish sauce, coriander, sugar, and red peppers. I was really surprised at how little flavor it had, especially after everything I added. I can't imagine what it would have tasted like if I didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Few changes: 1) rub chicken with curry powder night before. 2) Add Thai Chili Peppers for kick. 3) Use Thai Basil instead of cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States