Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I added extra curry paste and peanut butter and it still lacked something. Will continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Better than the stuff you buy in the can. Great basic recipe to start with, but even still, don't make it plain. The consistency of the sauce was good, but there was still something flat in the taste and I couldn't quite put my finger on it. A few others said crunchy peanut butter does the trick, which is probably the case, but we have an allergy in the family so we had to leave it out. I added 1 tsp fish sauce, but next time I would have done 2 tsp because it wasn't salty/savory enough (probably because I left out the onion—onion powder, garlic, cayenne pepper and/or paprika at very least are a must!) So many flavors to blend. You can add pineapple and basil too. For more spiciness, don't depend on more curry paste: go for the big guns and do chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is a great tasting easy meal! I added various spices I had in my cupboard and twice as much curry paste as the recipe called for (still wasn't very spicy), and green peppers instead of zucchini for colour. I only used a half pound of chicken and increased the amount of each vegetable by about a third for 2 good sized portions. Definitely more spice next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Not bad. I think the star rating is appropriate. This is a good base recipe that will give you the structure you need to experiment a little. I agree with the comment of the other cooks that there is something missing with this recipe. I added fish sauce and used full coconut milk with no cornstarch. I also added snap peas and fish sauce. I was going to add some crunchy almond butter (i didn't have peanut butter) as the previous reviewer suggested but I completely forgot. It was still good and I will most likely make it again but experiment a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe was a great base to a tasty dish. I added SALT, more red curry paste & 2 tablespoons of chilli garlic sauce. Optional extras were sliced asparagus & mushrooms followed by fresh basil instead of cilantro. Yum! Served with brown or white rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Alot of the reviews were very helpful, I kinda just mixed and matched to what I thought would taste good. Used sesame oil, cooked a few cloves of garlic and a piece of ginger in the oil before adding the chicken. added potatoes/peanuts/peanut butter/fish sauece. couldn't find any coriander so added a little bit of store bought curry mix in. cooked chicken and onions for a few minutes before adding the rest of the veggies in and then let the whole simmer for 10-20 minutes on low heat. great great recipe, have been trying out a few recipes over the past few weeks and this is def the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was only okay. Edible, but nothing to rave about. My kid and hubby wouldn't really eat it -- too spicy for them (and I only used 1 tbsp of curry.) I added peanut butter as someone suggested -- made the dish tan colored instead of pink or red. I also added coriander as someone suggested. Just wasn't a real "wow' factor and didn't really taste like red curries we get in thai or indian restaurants. Probably won't try again, but will try another curry recipe. I'm determined to find one we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Made this recipe last night never having made curry before. I had read the reviews first so I made it with 2 tbsp of fish sauce, 1 lime, and a couple dollops of peanut butter and upped the curry paste to 3 tbsp. I tasted it and it still wasn't spicy, I ended up adding at least 5 tbsp of curry paste along with about 2 tbsp of red pepper flakes and it was just barely hot. I'm used to eating curry that makes my eyes water! It was good but next time I'll know not to be stingy with the spices. Definitely going to make it again, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was just ok. Not enough flavor for me, unfortunately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chagyrlchicky
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
There's a little mom and pop place in Dallas, Tx called "Tukta Thai" and they have the best red curry chicken. I use that as a basis for making my own. Instead of using olive oil, use sesame oil and it does not hurt to gently sprinkle some salt and pepper on the chicken. For the veggies I used FRESH green beans, zucchini, carrots, and red or green bell peppers. The missing ingredient here are bamboo shoots. It is a must it makes all the difference. I added fish sauce and 2 tablespoons of sugar. If you like spicy just add pepper flakes and cayenne pepper to taste. Also, i added like 3 tablespoons of the curry paste. I have been playing with the recipe and it finally taste like the one from the restaurant, my hubby was in love. Personally there really is NO need for the cornstarch. End result will be 5 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States