Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I was excited to try this recipe, but it was very disappointing. The dish did not have much flavor and seemed very watered down, even after adding more curry paste. A friend told me that a good curry paste can make a big difference, so maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
this is pretty good and fast. it is missing something though, i added some shredded coconut while cooking and it elevated the flavour. i also cubed about a cup of fresh pineapple and stirred it in right before serving. enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was excellent, used some ginger, and garlic plus a bit of lime juice to bring out more flavor. Added a 1/2 tbs more of the curry paste and served over Jasmin Rice. The entire family loved it~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Loved all of the fresh veggies in this curry, but found the flavor lacking, even after tripling the curry. Maybe adding a bit of fish sauce, some thai basil? Thank you for sharing your recipe with AR, I enjoyed trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very mild
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
We loved this! I will say that we put in 2 T of red curry paste and a couple of spoons of peanut butter and it was pretty spicy for the kids. Now I on the other hand coulda handled some more heat! We also added a dash of fish sauce. Left out the cornstarch all together. Used green peppers instead of red and didn't have any zucchini, so left that out too. I will definately be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Made with some of the changes suggested by other reviewers, this dish was so delicious! I did the two tablespoons of red curry paste, because the sauce looked way too pale with just one tablespoon in there; I may even use more next time, it wasn't too spicy at all. I also added a little bit of peanut butter, though I couldn't really taste it, so maybe I'll add more next time. I used 2 Tbsp of fish sauce, as recommended, and some lime juice, coriander, and ginger. I went with the regular coconut milk, but I think I will get the lighter kind next time, because the sauce was very creamy and I think I'd prefer it a little less so. I used fresh basil instead of cilantro, though I'm sure it is yummy either way. I was very happy with the way it turned out, and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley Leavitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jericho, Vermont, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This recipe is a good base, but as a complete curry recipe, not so great. It didn't deliver the heat I want in a good curry, and it lacked that essential Thai flavor. I doubled the curry paste & added some Thai chili sauce to heat it up some. I also threw in some mushrooms & baby corn and substituted green bell pepper for the red. I also added a healthy dose of fresh basil leaves from my garden. About 10 leaves really gave the flavor a little boost & made it tast more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I added extra curry paste and peanut butter and it still lacked something. Will continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Better than the stuff you buy in the can. Great basic recipe to start with, but even still, don't make it plain. The consistency of the sauce was good, but there was still something flat in the taste and I couldn't quite put my finger on it. A few others said crunchy peanut butter does the trick, which is probably the case, but we have an allergy in the family so we had to leave it out. I added 1 tsp fish sauce, but next time I would have done 2 tsp because it wasn't salty/savory enough (probably because I left out the onion—onion powder, garlic, cayenne pepper and/or paprika at very least are a must!) So many flavors to blend. You can add pineapple and basil too. For more spiciness, don't depend on more curry paste: go for the big guns and do chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States