Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was just ok. Not enough flavor for me, unfortunately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chagyrlchicky
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
There's a little mom and pop place in Dallas, Tx called "Tukta Thai" and they have the best red curry chicken. I use that as a basis for making my own. Instead of using olive oil, use sesame oil and it does not hurt to gently sprinkle some salt and pepper on the chicken. For the veggies I used FRESH green beans, zucchini, carrots, and red or green bell peppers. The missing ingredient here are bamboo shoots. It is a must it makes all the difference. I added fish sauce and 2 tablespoons of sugar. If you like spicy just add pepper flakes and cayenne pepper to taste. Also, i added like 3 tablespoons of the curry paste. I have been playing with the recipe and it finally taste like the one from the restaurant, my hubby was in love. Personally there really is NO need for the cornstarch. End result will be 5 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the first time I've tried cooking Thai food. It turned out exactly how I've had this same dish at restaurants! My family and I loved it and plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I agree with many of the others that this recipe is pretty good but a little bland. I decided to first simmer some onion with garlic and cook the chicken in that with salt and pepper before adding it to the curry and coconut milk. Like others, I at least doubled the curry paste. I used jalepeno peppers instead of bell and added snow peas instead of zucchini. Also, because others suggested lime juice, I added lemon juice (didn't have lime juice) and finally added quite a bit of basil. After these additions, it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This turned out to be so good... :-) Although I did add 7-8 lime leaves and some chopped lemongrass to the oil just before adding the chicken and the veggies. Also I did not find Coconut Milk and used Lite Coconut cream, diluted with water and skipped the cornstarch.. Yum with steamed Jasmine rice.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very bland (at least for my tastes) even going with the comments-recommended 2Tbsp, next time I'll taste and check and probably end up more around 4Tbsp. I added a chopped potato, a pinch of garlic, a spoonful of peanut butter, and put it over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I like red curries, and I like easy recipes, so I wanted to like this. Unfortunately, we were bored to tears with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe but to be great restaurant quality some changes/additions are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. Some of the things I've adjusted include removing the cilantro and zucchini. Instead I've replaced it with bamboo shoots. They don't go soft and mushy like the zucchini. As well I doubled the curry paste (or more depending on how much I'm making). I've also tried a version with potatoes as well. Oh and if you don't have a red bell pepper try a yellow one. The extra sweetness give is a good blend with the heat from the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
the recipe was a real hit at my dinner party. followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States