Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a great base recipe but you'll need to spice it up. I like to add sweet potato to my curry but the cook time is so quick that I recommend boiling anything that dense prior to beginning this recipe, unless you like crunchy veggies. If you like spicey - 1 tbs of red curry paste is most definitely not enough (unless you happen to find some atomic paste). I do like spicey food so take that into consideration (but not ghost pepper hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I found this recipe bland. I started doctoring it on the stove while it was still cooking. I added 3 times the red curry paste, smoked paprika, yellow curry powder, cayanne powder, and at the table we added soy sauce. It was finally to the point that we liked it. I should also mention that I didn't have zucchini, so I substituted fresh asparagus. I am not one of those people who likes really spicy HOT food, but that is just what it took to make it similar to our Thai restaurant. I didn't read the other reviews, but as I'm writing this the comments above seem to be saying the same thing. Good but it needed kicked up a notch for us. It is a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
this recipe no flavor whatsoever. I do better thai myself. I had to add oyster sauce, and soy sauce. It was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was so excited to make this recipe but to my dismay it was "Bland" as the other reviews stated. I used extra fish sauce, minced garlic, two garlic cloves,ginger,cayenne pepper, cilantro,bamboo,zuchini,fire roasted dice garlic tomatoes,potates (boiled them first) and bean sprouts. I even added a sprinkle of salt. I did not have enough courage to add peanut butter as some of the reviews stated. Perhaps someone can share an idea of what else could be missing???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I just made this tonight and it was a let down. It's ok but it's definitely missing something. Next time I think I'll see what the reviews are before I make something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Definitely a little bland, but was DELICIOUS! Just needed a little salt and some rooster sauce! It really depends how strong you like your food, but I thought this was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The recipe was too bland as written. I added some shredded romano cheese, 2 cans of coconut milk, more curry paste and Sriracha Sauce. Most of my family was happy with it after these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
As some other suggested, I changed the recipe a bit; adding some peanut butter, lime juice, garlic, sprouts, and using sesame oil instead of olive oil. Turned out pretty good. Very nice color, though it was thicker than I expected it to be. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
this recipe is basic and super easy to jazz up! i used maybe double the amount of curry paste, as well as a lot more vegetables, some coriander, and some chili powder. I also used three or four cloves of garlic, and basil instead of cilantro. I served this over thai rice noodles and it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Excellent! Especially with the modifications suggested by hisdrinkoffering. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States