Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Using reviewers' variations, I turned this recipe into Red Curry Baked Chicken with Stirfried Veggies.My recipe: 2 Tbsp. Thai red curry paste 2 (14 oz.) cans lite coconut milk 2 cloves garlic, minced 2 Tbsp. ginger, grated 4 Tbsp. fish sauce Juice of 2 limes 1 Tbsp. smooth peanut butter 1 Tbsp. sugar 1 tsp. salt 1 Tbsp. sesame oil 1 large onion, quartered & halved 1 cup sliced carrots 2 cup sliced halved zucchini 2 bell peppers, seeded & sliced into strips 8 oz. mushrooms, sliced 4 lb. skinless chicken parts 3 Tbsp. cornstarch 4 Tbsp. chopped cilantro Preheat oven to 375. In a medium bowl, add the curry paste, coconut milk, garlic, ginger, fish sauce, lime juice, sugar, and salt. Mix well. Place the chicken pieces in a baking dish. Pour the curry paste mixture over all the pieces of chicken, covering all the pieces with mixture. Bake for 30-45 minutes, then turn pieces over and bake for an additional 15 to 20 minutes until chicken is done. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion;stir fry until translucent. Add carrots, zucchini, bell pepper, & mushrooms. Stir fry until almost done. Keep chicken warm while you finish cooking the vegetables. Remove about 1 1/4 cups of sauce from the chickens. Add 3/4 cups of the sauce to the vegetables while they finish cooking. Place cornstarch in a small bowl. Add remaining 1/2 cup sauce to cornstarch, stirring well. Pour over vegetables;stir well & allow to thicken. Sprinkle cilantro over chicken;serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
After reading several reviews, i tweaked it to my taste, added the peanut butter as recommended by hisdrinkoffering and must say it tasted pretty good. Gave it a 4 star cause the sauce got too thick. I will def. make it again and instead of adding cornstarch i will add chicken stock. I served it over boiled Basmati rice. Thanks for all the reviews and great tips and thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Good start. Something is missing, spice wise. I have eaten plenty of Thai food but haven't cooked much of it. Not sure what this needs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a great base recipe but you'll need to spice it up. I like to add sweet potato to my curry but the cook time is so quick that I recommend boiling anything that dense prior to beginning this recipe, unless you like crunchy veggies. If you like spicey - 1 tbs of red curry paste is most definitely not enough (unless you happen to find some atomic paste). I do like spicey food so take that into consideration (but not ghost pepper hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I found this recipe bland. I started doctoring it on the stove while it was still cooking. I added 3 times the red curry paste, smoked paprika, yellow curry powder, cayanne powder, and at the table we added soy sauce. It was finally to the point that we liked it. I should also mention that I didn't have zucchini, so I substituted fresh asparagus. I am not one of those people who likes really spicy HOT food, but that is just what it took to make it similar to our Thai restaurant. I didn't read the other reviews, but as I'm writing this the comments above seem to be saying the same thing. Good but it needed kicked up a notch for us. It is a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
this recipe no flavor whatsoever. I do better thai myself. I had to add oyster sauce, and soy sauce. It was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I was so excited to make this recipe but to my dismay it was "Bland" as the other reviews stated. I used extra fish sauce, minced garlic, two garlic cloves,ginger,cayenne pepper, cilantro,bamboo,zuchini,fire roasted dice garlic tomatoes,potates (boiled them first) and bean sprouts. I even added a sprinkle of salt. I did not have enough courage to add peanut butter as some of the reviews stated. Perhaps someone can share an idea of what else could be missing???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I just made this tonight and it was a let down. It's ok but it's definitely missing something. Next time I think I'll see what the reviews are before I make something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Definitely a little bland, but was DELICIOUS! Just needed a little salt and some rooster sauce! It really depends how strong you like your food, but I thought this was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The recipe was too bland as written. I added some shredded romano cheese, 2 cans of coconut milk, more curry paste and Sriracha Sauce. Most of my family was happy with it after these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States