Thai Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was somewhat tasty, but not fantastic, I thought. I did use a purchased chicken stock but I noticed that it includes vegetable stock in its ingredients. For the wine, I used an Idaho (!) Dry Riesling. (Coincidentally, after I bought it, I noticed its label mentioned that it paired with Thai dishes, among other things.) The sauce didn't really thicken, but, reading the reviews after the fact, I saw that one reviewer, claiming to be the recipe creator, said that the "sauce is really a thin reduction - not thickened" - that seems more like the case. And, of course, the only thing "Thai" about the dish was one ingredient - the cilantro. I did think that the flavor was slightly better when I had half of it as reheated leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This seemed kinda like a lot of work for what you got, I followed the recipe exactly and the "sauce" never thickened or became anything. I still spooned over the pork loin chops but it kinda just made a mess. Good flavor, but still not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I found this receipt hard to follow, but ended up with my own version of it, which was just great! I think I went wrong with the Chicken stock, I used broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNANGEL719

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This recipe was okay. As others suggested, I added 5 cloves of fresh minced garlic, a teaspoon of ground ginger, a bit of hot chile paste, reduced the wine, and added green onions. I had some shallots so I tossed that in with the sauteed garlic. Having said that, I don't know how much stock there is supposed to be but mine was like soup. In order to reduce it by half as the recipes suggests meant I boiled it for a long time. Next time, I would quickly cook the pork (I used tenderloin) and remove it from the pan. Then reduce the stock by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Hey everyone, thanks for your tips on this recipe! I altered it a bit: I added ginger powder, garlic powder, fresh crushed garlic, 2 splashes of soy sauce, vegetagble broth instead of chicken, red wine instead of white, lrg chopped tomato, mushrooms -cooked more like a stew and served over whole wheat pasta. The basic resipe needed a little something else so I used my intuition along the way and it turned out great. My husband and 2 yr old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I've made many pork loin dishes in the past and this by far has the beat flavor of all! Very, very good and I will most certainly make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I usually just use whatever wine I have around the house when I cook. This time, it was a fruity variety - rather than the dry wine the recipe called for. It turned out awesome. The wine gave it a bit of a citrusy taste. Really excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Hi, Henry Stollard here. Dish is not ethnic Thai. We call it Thai Pork because of the wonderfully pungent cilantro that is often found in Americanized Thai cuisine. Also, sauce is really a thin reduction - not thickened. Sorry for the erroneous description.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Yum Yum Yum. I was really worried when I made this. The sauce never did thickin up. It condensed. I added a liitle ground ginger and garlice powder. This were very good. My daughter who hates pork loved it. I used about 3/4 cup wine as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This was a pretty good recipe. Like others we put only half of the called for wine and I'm glad we did or the flavor would have overwhelmed everything else. We served this over pasta and the sauce tasted very good but I still feel as though it is missing something that I can't quite put my finger on. Will probably try this again because it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States