Thai Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was pretty good and I would make it again. I made a mistake in not using real butter and fresh cilantro. I used some healthy margarine stuff and frozen chopped cilantro. The sauce was not thick enough for my liking, so I added a little bit of cornstarch at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Like other pp this is great! The suace di not thinken but I got it to work. My husband loved it and asked that I make it again. I used some noodles that I had and coated them with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
The pork was very tender, which I appreciated- but the dish was far too salty in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Mills, Maine, USA
Living In: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I don't know anything about Thai food, but apparently from reading reviews it is something people seem to feel strongly about. I think that the recipe was good, the flavor was different, and the pork came out tender. I will make it again, and I won't say it is "Thai".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. The stated quantities don't work right, it doesn't reduce, you must use flour or corn starch, the pork is sliced much too thin to brown properly, etc. etc. etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Ok, this was a winner. The only thing I did different is I lightly floured the cutlets after salt and peppering them. Browned 'em good. Added chicken stock (I was only making two so I used half). Then when I was sure the cutlets were done I removed them to the plate to keep warm. Added the wine and I REALLY reduced the broth wine mixture to well below 1/2, to a thick sauce. There isn't a lot, but the flavor is concentrated. I drizzled that over the cutlets and sprinkled the parsley and greens from scallions over the pork and the plain rice. Really nice. Very easy and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was actually a terrific recipe! It was pretty easy and I loved the taste. I reduced the amount of broth and wine after realizing how much "extra sauce" it would create if I used 1 cup of each. I may only use 1/2 cup of each next time. It's unfortunate that the recipe submitter named this dish "Thai" because it gives false expectations. This dish is not even remotely Thai. Beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This dish turned out much tastier than I initially thought it would. I used slightly thicker cuts of pork, lightly breaded with flour and egg, and added a crushed clover of garlic and a little lemon juice to the simmer sauce. I did not reduce the amount of wine used and the sauce was very flavorful served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was very yummy dish especially over pad thai noodles!! I used cornstarch to give it a thickened sauce & was very pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Photo by NMChef1
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was somewhat tasty, but not fantastic, I thought. I did use a purchased chicken stock but I noticed that it includes vegetable stock in its ingredients. For the wine, I used an Idaho (!) Dry Riesling. (Coincidentally, after I bought it, I noticed its label mentioned that it paired with Thai dishes, among other things.) The sauce didn't really thicken, but, reading the reviews after the fact, I saw that one reviewer, claiming to be the recipe creator, said that the "sauce is really a thin reduction - not thickened" - that seems more like the case. And, of course, the only thing "Thai" about the dish was one ingredient - the cilantro. I did think that the flavor was slightly better when I had half of it as reheated leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States