Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. After reading reviews, I only added two and half tablespoons of the red curry paste and two tablespoons of the fish sauce. Believe the curry paste I had was concentrated because the dish was quite spicy -- but still very good. I followed what other reviewers suggested and mixed the curry paste with grape seed oil and cooked for about 3-4 minutes, added a clove of garlic before adding the chicken to brown. My chicken breast was frozen solid so I made this dish in the pressure cooker. After browning the chicken (used whole chicken breasts -- cld not chop because it was frozen), I added the coconut milk, a dash of ground corriander, fresh cilantro, pineapple juice and the bamboo shoots (drained). Cooked on high pressure for 15 minutes, then put the cooker on brown and took the lid off so the sauce wld reduce -- for 10 minutes. Did not have fresh bell pepper, so used one pickled red bell pepper and one orange. Added the pineapple at the end and served over jasmine rice with fresh cilantro to garnish. I think a squeeze of fresh lime juice would take this dish over the top! Great recipe, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
this was great, it will be added to my favorite recipes book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Wonderful!! I followed the recipe and incorporated a few hints from other reviewers. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by booklady2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This has become a staple in our house, yummy as written without any changes. It makes WAY too much food, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
With several tries and much modification I've been able to make this recipe delicious. I put in about 1/2 the sugar, and twice the curry paste. This recipe is a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
this was very good. although not spicy at all, and i found it be greasy when i didn't add any oil. maybe it was the curry paste i used. i will definitely cook this again adding about 3 thai chili peppers should add the heat...then it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Kydd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was a great dish and easy to make. Just a few things I ran into to think about. If you don't typically cook thai food, or chinese, the upfront cost of some of the supplies makes the dish seem to be rather expensive, but the ingredients should last a while. Also I'm not sure about the cook times on there. I accidentally put all the ingredients in at once, and the chicken was cooked perfectly after only 12min of boiling. All in all It's a great way to get into cooking with curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Pretty good. I agree about not adding as much sugar as in this recipe. However the previous comment about more than one tablespoon of already made red curry paste from the store, depends on the brand name. You don't want to use more than a tablespoon of Mae Ploy brand for instance, but up to a third of cup of Maesri brand is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this following the tip from The Screaming Chef by heating the red curry paste in oil, then adding the chicken, followed by the coconut milk. I also only used 1 T. of red curry powder, and it was plenty hot for us. This is an excellent tip. The dish was very flavorful and quick to make. However, the fish sauce I used had a very strong smell that was objectionable to me while eating. It was very off-putting. I'd smell the smell, then I'd take a bite thinking how good the dish is, but how bad it smelled. I made it again using a different brand of fish sauce which was a little better but still not good, yet I'm thinking the fish sauce lends to the good flavor of the dish so I didn't want to leave it out. If you have a good quality fish sauce, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States