Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
As this recipe stands...my family rates it a Four Star. With our personal adjustments, we give it a five star. My kids loved it and want me to make it again. I used just curry powder (about 2 tbsp), a tablespoon or so of asian chili garlic sauce, 1 can coconut milk, one can of chicken broth, chicken, fish sauce, 2 tbsp. sugar, 2 carrots-julienned, red and green bell pepper, onion and pineapple. I sauteed the veggies, then set aside. Then I cooked the chicken, combined all ingredients and simmered for 15-20 minutes. My children requested that I put a cubed sweet potato in it next time and no pineapple. I think this would be a good crockpot dish. Just combine all of the above ingredients and cook 6-8 hours. I imagine the flavors would come together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Perfect and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clh5030

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very good! A favourite restaurant used to have a pineapple chicken curry pasta recipe but they stopped making it and I've been looking for something similar ever since. This is very close! Had to make a few changes though. Did what another reviewer suggested and sauteed the curry and then added the chicken. I did have to thicken it a bit in the end and I added some cilantro, I also made penne instead of rice. This will be a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Allister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Using a oriental Curry in this dish will be best way to go for most people... flavor is more broad and pleasant, heat is less. Using Asian onions will also be a different flavor as well... and most people that don't like curry as much, could enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Its a good recipe, but can be spiced up a little. I cut the fish sauce in half and don't add the sugar. The pineapple juice works just fine. I use two kaffir leaves (lime leaves) that I buy at the local farmer's market but you can also purchase at asian food stores. Add the leaves to the coconut sauce while the chicken is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious - although I didnt add fish sauce, sugar (its sweet enough with the coconut milk and bell peppers) or the bamboo shoots or the pineapple! :) In saying all that, it was perfect. I think I probably only cooked the veg for 5 mins as the chicken was perfectly cooked at that stage and I do like crunchy veg .. I added juice of half a lime and some fresh coriander. Really could not have been better ... ooh added a carrot (in strips) also ... mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This recipe was delicious! I fried my curry paste as recommend in the reviews and swapped the chicken out for shrimp and everyone in my house loved it. I used the full 1/4 cup of red curry too and I thought it was delightfully spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. After reading reviews, I only added two and half tablespoons of the red curry paste and two tablespoons of the fish sauce. Believe the curry paste I had was concentrated because the dish was quite spicy -- but still very good. I followed what other reviewers suggested and mixed the curry paste with grape seed oil and cooked for about 3-4 minutes, added a clove of garlic before adding the chicken to brown. My chicken breast was frozen solid so I made this dish in the pressure cooker. After browning the chicken (used whole chicken breasts -- cld not chop because it was frozen), I added the coconut milk, a dash of ground corriander, fresh cilantro, pineapple juice and the bamboo shoots (drained). Cooked on high pressure for 15 minutes, then put the cooker on brown and took the lid off so the sauce wld reduce -- for 10 minutes. Did not have fresh bell pepper, so used one pickled red bell pepper and one orange. Added the pineapple at the end and served over jasmine rice with fresh cilantro to garnish. I think a squeeze of fresh lime juice would take this dish over the top! Great recipe, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
this was great, it will be added to my favorite recipes book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States