Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
A nice and simple dish. I used yellow curry powder since that is what I had on hand. I agree with other reviewers that the vegetables do not need to be cooked for that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe is easy, tasty, and pretty close to my favorite Thai restaurant's mussaman curry, although a little too spicy for my husband's taste. The only change real change I made to the recipe was to reduce the sugar by half and next time I may leave it out entirely, because the pineapple sweetens the dish quite a bit. Next time I make it I'll cut back a bit on the curry paste and pineapple, but add some sweet potato chunks and pecan halves. This was a great week night dinner thanks to the ease of preparation; to make it a little healthier I served it over brown rice. I also recommend using a fresh pineapple cut in to nice-sized chunks, because the fresh pineapple flavor really improves the quality of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have made this a couple of times. I enjoy Thai food and will be making this recipe for years to come. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Much too much fish sauce - I won't be adding so much next time. Otherwise it was a fine dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @shley.)ean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The recipe as is, is just ok and too sweet. I made it for the second time tonight with these changes and it was almost perfect. I meant to leave out the sugar but forgot, so I added 1 1/2 TBSP White Vinegar to help reduce the sweetness. I reduced the fish sauce down to 1 1/2 -2 TBSP and added 3 TBSP Chili Paste and 4 -6 Bay Leaves. Next time I would like to try adding a couple Lime Leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This came out very nice. I only had one can of coconut milk so I just went with it and added about 1/2 cup of angel flake coconut. The flavors were perfect. It seemed like it was plenty "wet" so I am curious to see what will happen with a whole nother can of coconut milk. The picture is nothing like what I had show up on the plate. The Red Curry Paste turned the milk a very nice dark cream color so the whole plate looked VERY indian curry colored, not the blah white of the pic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This dish is wonderful! As other readers have said, one can of coconut milk is plenty. Also, this was a little salty for my taste, so next time, I'll probably use about half as much fish sauce. I added some snap peas and water chestnuts for a nice contrasting texture... I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I just have one thing to say.... I love, love this recipe. It was so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We didn't care for this, but I didn't have all the right ingredients either. I couldn't find curry paste or bamboo shoots and my grocery store, so I made a paste from curry powder, garlic, cayenne, a squirt of lime juice, a pinch of brown sugar, onion powder, and coconut milk. I subbed bean sprouts for the bamboo. It was pretty bland tasting, but maybe if I had the right ingredients it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States