Thai Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Yum! I love Thai food and this did not disappoint. I cut the cayenne because I have small children, but that is the only alteration I made. This will be a permanent addition to my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I personally would give this 4 stars, but EVERYBODY else that ate it loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was good, but needed a little bit of brightness to it. SO I added a bit of lime juice, lemon grass and a bit of lime ponzu (it was within reaching distance) and it lightened it up to my liking. I love peanut butter, but for some do not like many pesto's that use PB - this is by far the best base recipe for my liking! ps. - I also used a touch of sambal olek
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I had a bunch of "leftover" cilantro and wondered what to do with all of it. This recipe came to the rescue. I am out of fish sauce, so I used lite soy sauce in lieu of that. I completely forgot to add the sugar! The peanut butter I used is this great product made by Earth Balance called coconut & peanut spread. It's creamy and requires no stirring. The hint of coconut was wonderful in this recipe. I immediately spread the mixture on a baguette and had a tasty lunch. It would be great on warm noodles too. This one is a keeper: simple and tasty. Next time I'll try with the suger, but it doesn't seem necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernadette Marlene
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was excellent!!! I did make a few alterations. I doubled the batch and used most of it on 1 box of whole grain spaghetti. I also added the zest and juice of 1 lime. Omitted the fish sauce. Used a T of seasame oil. A few dashes of sea salt. And a T of tubed lemongrass because I couldn't find any fresh. And I served it with ribbons of carrot and crushed cashews. Let me tell ya, this was deeeelish! It is a bit garlicky so next time I might cut that down a little. Will def make again! Thanks for such an awesome meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was awesome after adding salt and lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is great! I made a few small changes: 2 tbsp olive oil + 1 tbsp sesame oil, added 1 lime's worth of juice, and a little srirracha sauce to pump up the spice. We didn't have any fish oil on hand, but soy sauce worked as a good replacement. This is so great I'm making it for the second time in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made the recipe exactly as written, and we were pleased with the sharp, sweet and spicy flavors. I added part of the pesto to spaghetti noodles with shredded carrot and green onion - tasty, but dry (added some sesame oil at the table). The other portion of pesto I brushed on thin chicken breast cutlets and grilled - amazing! Pesto had a tendency to burn at the end (and get bitter), so possibly bake instead of grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
We loved this. I was worried that the cilantro would be overwhelming, but not so. There was no fish sauce at our local grocery store, so used soy sauce. I also added a little lemon juice. My hubby raved about it. Ate 3 bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I've been using recipes from this site for years and have never reviewed any of them until now. This is amazing stuff! I read the other reviews and followed some of the suggestions, just because I knew I'd like the additions. I added the zest and juice of a small lime, a little sesame oil and a healthy squirt of srirracha. I didn't have fish sauce, so I substituted soy sauce. Since I didn't have fresh ginger, I used the ginger that comes in a tube that you can find in the refrigerated section in the produce department. If you're debating on making this recipe, stop reading now and go make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I do a cilantro pesto of my own. just cilantro, olive oil, garlic. That way I can add what I need to flavor my food, be it mexican, thai or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States