Thai Peanut Noodle Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I liked this but I thought it could be much better. I put shrimp in it and used rice instead of noodles so maybe those changes ruined the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made several on-hand substitutions on this recipe and it still turned out great. I used broccoli, onions, garlic, and frozen whole green beans for the veggie mix; I used beef stock in place of the vegetable stock; and had no sake or rice wine vinegar so I left it out completely. I reduced the brown sugar to 2T and the honey to 1T based on previous reviews, but next time I will probably try it with the full amount called for because the sweetness didn't really come through. I was unsure on the amount of spaghetti, as a standard package is actually 16 oz (I have never seen an 8 oz package?) I ended up boiling the whole 16 oz and used about 3/4 of it just eyeballing it for how much sauce I wanted. I also topped the pasta with thin sliced chicken breast. My whole family enjoyed it, including the 18 month old, 4 year old, and generally carb-averse husband! I was really worried about the beef broth being an issue, but it turned out delicious anyway. I look forward to making it "the real way" one day soon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love the peanut sauce. I omitted the sake and it still turned out great. I always substitute reduced fat products and it was still awesome. I used a wok and soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Good. I liked all the vegetables. Next time I will cut the sugar and honey down to about a third, increase the red pepper and add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was very good, but too sweet as written for my tastes. I would cut both the honey and brown sugar by half (or just pick one and use 3 Tbsp of it). Only other changes were to use fresh grated ginger and a few shakes of Sriracha in place of the cayenne, and like others I added the juice of one lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought the flavor was delicious. I did add more rice vinegar, per suggestions, to cut the sweetness and a little fresh lime juice. I guess I would cut back on the sweetness the next time but overall, I think it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
If you like Thai peanut anything, look no further. This sauce is the bomb. Great over noodles or rice. Add chicken or shrimp if that's your thing. I left the red pepper out of the sauce and threw in chopped habeneros, jalapenos, and chiles from our garden (two each) with the stir fry. Perfect heat. Makes you sweat but doesn't burn as long as you core the peppers (no seeds or pulp from the center). The sauce is the winning part. No need for the Sake if you don't have it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
great tasting sauce! i used rice noddles instead of regular italian noodles which worked well. definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I looooooove this recipe, though since I use allll natural ingrediants (meaning I have to chop everything), it takes me a good hour and a half to two hours to make...also because I'm pretty slow still. :-) Per other reviews, I omitted the honey, and I have no idea where to get sake in Mexico, so I don't add that either. My American and Canadian friends love it, my Mexican friends aren't quite as impressed...spicy and sweet I don't think goes well with the Mexican pallet...they're more into spicy and salty, or spicy and tart. Anyway, this is my absolute favorite thing to make, when I have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Xalapa, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good! I added the juice of one lime because I think it needed more acid. Also doubled the recipe, sliced up 6 chicken breast and cooked chicken in sesame oil and a little soy. I also ended up adding a little more veg broth at the end because I wanted the sauce a little thinner. Used one package of whole grain speghetti. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States