Thai Peanut Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I love anything thai! i used this recipe as a guide, but i had to substitute stuff I didnt have. I used 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and I ommitted the lemon juice and sherry and used 2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar to get the sour tang. I also used honey instead of corn syrup. (better for you in my opinion) because I ommitted so much mine was pretty thick so it needed extra water. I also like super spicy so I added a teaspoon of hot curry in addition to the cayenne. Yummy! Great over rice noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this with chicken satay. It was VERY good, and just spicy enough. I didn't have sherry, so I used white cooking wine. I was glad that I used low sodium soy sauce, because it might have been salty otherwise. I also added a little bit of coconut milk, as I had some on hand. My boyfriend said of the meal: this doesn't taste like something you eat at home! I would have paid money for it, too! So totally delicious. Thanks for sharing! EDIT: I now make this with cream of coconut instead of corn syrup. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I love it! Overpowering, well of course!! But come on people, this is not sauce from an old folks home, this is THAI!! Yummmmm Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
I was disappointed in this recipe. The flavor was overpowering. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Awesome! It is quick and easy and tastes great, not too sweet not too spicy. I used crunchy peanut butter to give it more texture then poured it over a shrimp stir fry. Left my hubby licking the bowl. And as far as overpowering goes; if you don't want a lot of flavor don't cook Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was wonderful! I followed it almost to the T-had to use honey as I didn't have any corn syrup on hand. I didn't measure the peanut butter because I made as a "bottom of the jar" sauce. Fabulous! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Webster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This was perfect on the Asian Lettuce Wraps. My dinner party didn't think the sauce was hot enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This is excellent on broiled fish! Recipe too hot for you? Just cut the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
Awesome, still getting requests for recipe from party goers! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was good. I made it without the corn syrup (it's just awful stuff) but substituted in some Stevia sweetener. My whole family enjoyed it with my own fried tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Mandel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States