Thai Peanut Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious and simple to make using pantry staples. However, I had to make some substitutions, as I was missing some ingredients, so the 5-star rating is for my simpler, make-do version. I used all-natural peanut butter (with no sodium), 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1 to 2 tbsp red wine vinegar and a sprinkling of chili pepper flakes. Mixed it all up and added hot water as required to create the creamy consistency that I wanted. It's terrific as a veggie dipping sauce, and can be easily diluted to make it a more liquid sauce for noodles and chicken. Note to self: next time, try using sriracha sauce for the kick instead of chili flakes. Bet the results will be tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
YUMMMM!!!! That's all I have to say, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
WOW...this was so much better than the creamy preservative filled one I always seem to taste from local Thai restaurants! I think next time I will try someone else's suggestion on using pan roasted peanuts. I also will cut the cayenne pepper in half (it was a wonderful kick though). I used Tamari instead of soy sauce, which was great, but I think I'll cut the Tamari usage in half too...other than that I can't wait to play around with it on my second try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this with chicken satay. It was VERY good, and just spicy enough. I didn't have sherry, so I used white cooking wine. I was glad that I used low sodium soy sauce, because it might have been salty otherwise. I also added a little bit of coconut milk, as I had some on hand. My boyfriend said of the meal: this doesn't taste like something you eat at home! I would have paid money for it, too! So totally delicious. Thanks for sharing! EDIT: I now make this with cream of coconut instead of corn syrup. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Careful with the soy sauce. Way too much in this recipe. I lived 2 years in Bangkok and 8 in the Philippines. Never had I a peanut sauce that was this soy sauce salty! Read some of the reviews before making this recipe and possibly add soy sauce little by little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used honey because I did not have any corn syrup, but I'm sure either would be great! Perfect sauce with Satay Chicken. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Smart to replace peanut Butter to pan roast peanut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My new preferred peanut sauce recipe. Made it with honey instead of light corn syrup and didn't have any sherry on hand so used a dry white wine. Seemed like it was going to be salty with all the soy sauce but I just added water to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Trost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seedlings_of_Thyme
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
OMG, EXCELLENT!! I quadrupoled the recipe exactly as listed, only used cooking sherry instead of dry cuz I couldn't find it. Also added more cayenne than called for cuz we LOVE "HOT"!! A local thai restaurant here makes this, but they charge too much! Now I can make it for a third of the cost!! This is so great!! Oh, I used the blender to meld all these ingredients well--and also to thicken it. Ah, I should've mentioned, I also added more peanut butter as I was blending cuz it was too thin--but that might have something to do with the fact that I quadrupoled the recipe. The extra peanut butter brought it to the perfect consistency, as did blending it. Served it over noodles (used fettuccini broken in half) and added veggies. See photo. It was DEE-LISH!!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Excellent and easy! Great with lo mein noodles and sauteed chicken! I am sitting here eating as I type. I have to say I'm happy with the final product. Of course I will likely tweak for my personal taste(a tad less cayenne and maybe even a bit more soy and lemon juice). I prepared this in a pot so I could put some sauteed chicken in it to soak up the flavors once I had finished it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States