Thai Peanut Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Family loved these though I made a couple of modifications. First I should note we made "lettuce wraps" with these burgers which not only makes these a bit healthier but really let's the flavor of the burger shine through. The texture of the burgers is smoother than your standard burger; a bit like meat loaf. Modifications: - I used creamy instead of chunky peanut butter and didn't have any problems with the burgers falling apart. I also deliberately made the burgers thick putting a "divot" in the center as I do all burgers. - For the same amount of meat and peanut butter listed above, I doubled all of the other ingredients and would even up these a bit more in the future. - I add about a teaspoon of curry powder to the mix. Note: next time I am planning to use a bit of Thai Curry paste instead. - We made a "Curry Ketchup" for the burgers by mixing curry ( to taste) with ketchup. In the future I'll make some Thai Peanut Sauce to go with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I have never had a turkey burger cause a flare-up on the grill before this one. I am not a fan of cilantro so I only used a small amount of fresh in the mix. The ginger came thgough but the peanut butter really mellowed out most of the flavor, the cilantro may have been the punch it was missing... but I'll never know. My burgers held together fine and were moist enough. I took Maili's suggestion and added an egg. The mixture was way too sticky so I threw in some bread crumbs then some chopped up bread until I could form a patty without it sticking to my hands. I also put the patties in the freezer for 20-30 minutes. I figured it might help them keep their shape on the grill but don't know if it made a difference. Play with the recipe a little, my wife liked them because they were not the typical turkey burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Looking at Smucker's picture and seeing our turn outs, I'd say they are forgetting to tell us to add an egg. I'm definitely doing that next time... I added more everything minus peanut butter. Excited to tweak this a bit, good base recipe! Want to try making a ginger mayo or something like that... I noticed these cook a lot faster too, so watch them or they get too crispy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Tastes ok, but totally falls apart. A typical burger with Thai Peanut sauce would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I grilled the patties and they were dry tasteless burgers. I followed the recipe exactly and I usually have a great outcome with any 4-5 starred meals; not this one though! I Don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
First of all let me start with saying the flavor on this was decent. Now that is what was good about this... I am so glad I pan fried this as the burgers totally fell apart and I barely managed to scrape the patty up in one piece as it was really loose and then it totally fell apart while eating. No way would this have worked on a grill! I just don't think I would make this again it was okay but it wasn't that good. I used a thai hot peanut based sauce. Thanks for the idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Little nervous about making this burger...with its strange-to-me ingredient list, but this was surprisingly delicious! Made just as stated minus the cayenne cause, frankly, i just forgot it on the counter. Will definitely make again. Try this for an offbeat twist to an old favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Husband liked them more than I did. The flavors work well together but I wasn't a fan of the texture - I might try making them with smooth pb next time. Ok for a change but not something I'd want regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
My husband says this is a "keeper" as he wolfs down his second burger. I fully agree! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These burgers are delish! I did cook them on the BBQ so they fell apart a little but it didn't change the taste one bit. I also topped my burger with bean sprouts for more of a crunch. This is probably one of the best burgers I've had in ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States