Thai Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
very good It is little sweet next time I will add alittle less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was fantastic as is! Thank you for such a great recipe. This will be the second time I am making it and I am going to add peppers and ginger. I also am going to use almonds instead of peanuts. I liked the other comment to try orange concentrate to add more orange flavor too so may try that as well. But like I said at the beginning I liked it as is I am just making a variation for fun :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was SO good. Nice thick sauce and very tasty. Could definitely kick it up a notch, but was very good like it was, following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I'm always looking for new recipes for chicken breasts. This was delicious! I will definitely cook it again. Based on suggestions from other reviewers, I sauteed the red pepper with the carrots and substituted extra OJ for some of the water. It was a perfect combination of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I’m hit or miss when it comes to Thai food, but this was awesome! I made a few changes, but mostly to the cooking process, not the ingredients. I felt that adding the crushed red pepper flakes at the end of the cooking process would not give it the kind of spicy kick it deserves, so I started by sauteing the crushed red pepper along with the garlic in the olive oil for about 3 minutes before adding the carrots and ginger. This infuses the oil with flavor and gives the dish an even and consistent spice. It also brings out the heat in the red pepper. After the carrots started to soften, I pushed them to the side and added the chicken, omitting the second dose of olive oil. I’m not big on oily dishes and have found that I can cut it or even eliminate it most of the time. As the chicken browned, I stirred it with the carrots and added the rest of the ingredients except the orange juice. I used the orange juice to whisk the cornstarch in and added it last. Serve over noodles and you will have a sweet orange dish that ends with a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe except for the following: I sautéed some Thai peppers with the garlic and ginger, omitting the red pepper flakes. I left the veggies (added a green pepper) in the pan when browning the chicken, omitting the additional olive oil at the suggestion of another reviewer. Otherwise, everything else was exactly as written! Thank you for a great recipe! We will be eating this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Simply delicious! A change in plans brought me to this recipe and I am so glad it did. Easy to make and full of flavor. The aromas emanating from this recipe were a clear indication of how yummy this recipe was going to be. I was a little worried about whether it was going to be too sweet because of two things, that were totally on me. 1) I had to use squeezed tangerine juice, instead of orange juice. And 2) had to use honey roasted peanuts. Suffice it to say, this was a non issue. The only changes i made to the actual recipe was I only added a few pinches of the red pepper, to cut down on the heat. And I only needed 1 tbsp of cornstarch, which was enough to thicken the sauce to my liking. Great recipe that will definitely go into my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
HUGE hit here! My first time using peanuts in a chicken dish. Wow. Unbelievably good! It could use a bit more heat(did I just say that?!) but really a very good, kid friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The ingredients played well together to create a unique flavor as suggested by the recipe submitter. In spite of the recipe’s name, we knew from a quick glance at the ingredients that this was not going to have a flavor strongly associated with Asian (or Thai) cuisine. That didn’t matter as we thought this dish had plenty of flavor, and it pleased our taste buds. The recipe is incredibly easy to make with ingredients commonly available at home or a local grocer without having to make a special trip to an Asian market. The dish comes together quickly, especially if the carrots are already cut into matchsticks. I juiced a large naval orange which produced nearly 1/2 cup and subbed cashews for peanuts because of personal preference. This is an easily adaptable recipe that can range from tinkering with the quantity of each ingredient or adding new ingredients commonly found in traditional Thai dishes. See notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States