Thai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
FANTASTIC!!! Excellent for a warm summer night when you want to cool down. I was skeptical about mixing milk directly with vinegar in the dressing because I thought the milk would curdle, so I combined all the dressing ingredients *except* the milk, stirred it well, then added the milk. The dressing tasted just like what I've had at good Thai restaurants!!! I made one addition to the noodle mixture: fresh cilantro. The results were so fresh and yummy! I'm glad the recipe made a lot of noodle salad because I'm looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I substituted linguine for the udon noodles, and it turned out well. I feel the texture of the bean sprouts detracted from the salad, so next time I'll leave those out. Otherwise, a very good, flavorful salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I was a little disappointed. I would completely change all the veggies, no cucumbers, and use extremely thin noodles. Using speghetti just is too heavy. The dressing isn't bad, but it lacks something. I will try to modify this to get it to work. I will let you know when I figure out the missing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
the presentation of this salad is very nice! i think next time i would try another type of noodle...the udon noodles were a little too floury and bland for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is a great recipe. I added lots of vegetables to it (bean sprouts, pea pods, shredded carrots, diced celery) and it was a hit at the family party. I also heated up the left overs the next night and had a hot pasta dish for dinner. It was great cold and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I LOVED this salad. My boyfriend "really liked it". He didn't love the whole udon noodles - works best if you cut them into bite-sized pieces. Also he requested more bean sprouts and that worked well when we tried it a second time. I also addes a tiny bit more peanut butter b/c I love it! Next time I want to try it hot without the carrott and cucumber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
When I read the receipe I was so excited. I love Thai food, especially receipes with peanut butter. But....this salad was terrible. I spent all afternoon making it and wound up throwing the whole thing out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I made this over the weekend for a cookout and it was a big hit. I used twice the amount of udon called for and I think only 1 package (8oz) would have been way too much sauce. One other note - this is much more like a pasta salad than a green salad because it is a mound of saucy noodles on a bed of lettuce (at least the way it turned out for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
We didn't really like the taste of the peanut butter dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Very tasty noodle salad. I substituted spaghetti for the Udon and it still tasted great. Also added water chestnuts for more crunch. Especially good on second day. I added a touch more soy sauce on second day to maximize flavor. I recommend trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States