Thai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was lacking 3 key thai ingredients...lime juice, fresh cilantro and fresh basil, so I added them (1/2 cup each for a doubled recipe). I also added some red bell pepper for color and sweetness. I also think the key to this dish is tossing everything right before serving. I used thai rice noodles because I didn't have udon (too lazy to go shopping) and they worked out fine, but again, I wouldn't recommend tossing this head of time with anything but udon. Other noodles will get gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I just made this for a potluck at work and it was a hit! I added about 2 tbsp. of brown sugar and I was pretty liberal with the ginger. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
While I enjoyed the flavor of this dish, my guests would have preferred a less "earthy" taste. Next time, I'd skip the sesame oil. I also left out the ginger and the mint, but only because I'm not a fan. Otherwise, this was a fun dish to serve and was a refreshing addition to our summer BBQ - a cold noodle salad on a hot afternoon is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Gloucester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This sald was OK-it didn't live up to my expectations. It was definitely missing something. After making it for my family, I added some red pepper, ground ginger, and a terryaki dressing to give it a "kick" and some tang and it tasted a little better. It was just kind of bland. I'm taking the "improved" version to work for a pot luck tomorrow so we'll see what kind of reviews it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was ok - I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the noodles (didn't have Udon - used linguine) but I thought it was too much. I would've liked to have had it saucier. Plus I only had 2 T of soy sauce but it really needed the 3 T. I ate it cold but my husband wanted it heated up without the lettuce. I'm not sure I'll make it again but it was good to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I used leftover Ramen noodles to make this for lunch today. I loved it Jessica and didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe for the new years bash I threw. My guests thought I bought it. It was that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Made this for lunch and turned out well. I personally did not care for it but my husband loved it. Used half the recomended mint and would probably use less sesame oil next time my advice on the oil would be to add half and taste before adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I thought this salad was great! I made a few changes, but nothing that made a big difference from the original recipe. I used soba noodles instead of udon and I used light coconut milk instead of regular milk. I also cut back on the amount of sesame oil - I find it too strong of a taste to use a whole tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I had an issue with the amount of noodles. I made the sauce ahead of time and chopped all the veg's. However i used pre-cooked udon noodles 8oz and there was not enough compared to the amount of sauce and veg's. The flavor was only okay. I thought it was kind of weak. Something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States