Thai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very flexible recipe! Made ahead for weekday work lunches. I know people get annoyed with too many substitutions but with this kind of salad I think it's okay - the dressing is the real recipe! Used wholewheat spaghettini, omitted the cabbage and replaced it with corn, red pepper and sprouts. Subbed shrimp for chicken. Packs and keeps well for bag lunches, better than if I ran out to the deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was great. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, left out the meat because we're vegetarians, and substituted here and there with the vegetables I had on hand. I mixed everything together an hour or so before we ate and let it marinate in the frig. The leftovers the next day were very good too, it didn't get mushy. I spent a summer in Taiwan in college, and this reminds me of noodle dishes I used to find at a vegetarian restaurant in Taipei. Very light and summery, not like the heavy food I find in local Asian restaurants. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
There are such great, bold, fresh flavors in this recipe; we loved it!! I did substitute dried, crushed red pepper flakes for the black pepper, but other than that I made this exactly as written, and it was outstanding!! We're looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow. I think this would also work well with chicken instead of shrimp. Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!! The only trick to this recipe is finding a store that carries Tahini; the end result is definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made it as the recipe stated except I didn't find tahini. It was excellent. Even my husband who doesn't like cold pasta salads liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
LOTS of room for you to fiddle with this recipe, and it is ALWAYS a winner. I've brought it to a bunch of parties, and my husband asks me to make it at home too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this tonight for me and my wife, and it was delicious! I loved it, and I followed the recipe almost exactly. I adjusted the recipe for a 16 oz box of pasta, b/c that is what I had and I didn't want to have 4 oz of dry angel hair hanging out in the pantry. Because I'm lazy, I nuked a frozen "fajita" mix of peppers and onions and substituted that instead of slicing a bunch of peppers, and I used pre-shredded carrots. These convenience products made this a fairly quick and easy dish to throw together, and I loved it. My wife ate it heartily as well, and she's not really a fan of Thai food. Next time I might try adding some fresh basil and ginger, and maybe some lime juice as well, just b/c those are flavors I love in Thai food, but really I think this is a great recipe! Anyone who thinks this is bland must have been stingy with the chili sauce! (The 16 oz. box yielded a lot of leftovers, so I'm already looking forward to lunch tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theButtercreamKid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Loved this recipe, esp the sauce. Very similar to Pad Thai. Used cole slaw mix instead of the napa and slice carrots. Cilantro as garnish (like pad thai) Use "normal" onions sliced thin. Sauce could, possible use a little spicing up. The only thing I will do different the NEXT time I make this is a little less peanut butter. I love peanut butter but the suggested amount makes the sauce a little too thick for me. But, for me and DH, seriously great recipe. Maybe Mung Bean Sprouts if you've got some handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
its pretty good, I used chicken instead,and didnt use the tahini either...I have it but it didnt sound good to me in this...I also added 1 tea gound ginger and honey instead of brown sugar and I doubled it...I also added honey roasted sunflower seeds instead of peanuts..didnt have those on hand...plus I added the juice of 1 lime..will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
YUM!!! I made it exactly as listed just made mine with more spice. I also added toasted almonds :o) Will be making over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughmestic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Flavorful and easy! It's a recipe that is better the next day, when all the ingredients are the same temperature. --Shortcut: I used a bagged cabbage/carrot mix. I was making 1/2 recipe so I didn't want the HUGE napa cabbage. It worked really well and cut the prep time down. Also, I used mini sweet peppers because they were cheaper than the bell peppers. I sprinkled with chopped cashews...this really was a great recipe! Pretty easy too, if you keep your pantry stocked with Asian ingredients & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States