Thai Monkfish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It was lacking extra zing. I think it could have used some freshly squeezed lemon juice to add some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was great, didnt know I could make something this good @ home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
had to do a bit of improvising with this, but do not think it strayed off the recipes' path too much. i didn't have peanut oil, so i used veggie oil and 1 tsp chunky peanut butter. cut back on the red curry past to 1 1/2 tsp. for personal preference. i don't think we could have eaten it with 3 TBS. used lite coconut milk to save on calories, but i'm afraid that might be where the umph might lay. the dish, while spicy, was bland. if i make this again, i'll use regular coconut milk. served over rice. thanks for the post meg76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was a fantastic curry- the flavours were intense but not overpowering. The fish stayed chunky in the sauce and it had just the right amount of spice. I served this with green beans over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Needs more curry paste and fish sauce, but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This dish was fantastic i am not a huge fishlover and had not had monkfish before but this was lovely. I found the monkfish to be meaty and mild in flavour the sauce was wonderfully fragrant with the coconut, lime and heat hitting every taste bud. I made the dish exactly to the recipe, there was a lot of sauce but this was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I loved this dish! I used Tilapia instead of monkfish and it turned out great. So quick and easy! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I've never seen monkfish at the store so I made this with cod plus a few shrimp. As written, it was so bland. I ended up adding more red paste, more fish sauce and a splash of soy sauce. Also threw in a can of straw mushrooms. Turned out ok but definitely needed some tweaking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe. Easy to follow. I have used it with the monkfish but also substituted for other fish (vietnamese rive cobbler). Always gets the thumbs up from friends and family when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Delicious, with a delicate and balanced flavor. Instead of using monkfish, I added frozen edamame beans and some vegetarian "chicken," and it was still wonderful and filling. My only regret is that I had to use dried cilantro in place of fresh, which I added with the curry paste. Using fresh cilantro as indicated would've made this a perfect five out of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kourteney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States