Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This "Thai Hot and Sour Soup" turned out excellent. I made my own tom yum paste from a recipe I found online since I could not find any tom yum paste without MSG (which I refuse to eat) at the Asian grocery store closest to my home. I also could not find any tom yum paste at all at the large urban supermarket near my home, which quite surprised me. Tom yum paste is easy enough to make. This soup was a real treat. I liked it even better when I stirred in some coconut milk (my own addition: not the recipe) - as good as any soup I have had in a Thai restaurant. Thank you STEVE ALDER for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I make this soup all the time. The only thing I changed was using regular lime instead of Kaffir lime (don't know what a kaffir lime is or where to get it). I did not put lime leaves in. Sometimes I use lemon instead of lime and it is still very tasty. Since lemon grass stalks are kind of a pain to deal with, I just buy the lemon grass paste and use 3 tblsp. of that. The outcome is the same. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is as good as any Tom Yum soup I have had in Thai restaurants. It is hot and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very good! Spicy but not too hot. I would use one chicken breast next time as there isn't a lot of broth. I used low sodium chicken broth instead of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was the first hot and sour soup I've ever made, and it was absolutely delicious! For a total beginner the instructions could have been more clear. According to a bit of research you should cut the lemon grass into long, large pieces, but crush them a bit to release the flavour while cooking. Remove them and the lime leaf before serving! (I chopped them and left them in, and they were very tough and inedible) My roommate and I prefer a brothier less hearty soup, so next time I make it I will double the recipe but use the same amount of chicken and mushrooms. I highly recommend trying this one out! It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Wilson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I substituted 3 cups of veggie broth, added 2 cans of coconut milk and it was amazing, very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This soup was amazing. And really easy to make. It tasted just like the hot and sour soup from our favourite Thai restaurant. I made it for friends and everyone loved it. I used tofu instead of chicken and it worked really well. I also could not find tom yum paste or keffir lime leaves so I used hot sauce and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Family all enjoyed this soup - Very easy to make after getting a couple items(tom yom paste,lemongrass & straw mushrooms) from local Asian market - The tom yum paste is great - used twice the amount recipe called for & still added sirachi sauce at table since we all like spicy - also used extra mushrooms - was even better reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a super easy and quick recipe. The only thing that might be time consuming is shopping for the Kaffir lime leaves, Tom Yum paste and Lemon Grass if you live in a rural area without access to an Asian store. The ONLY reason I am not giving this soup 5 stars is because a traditional Tom Yum Goong soup doesn't use chicken stock which is more of a Western culture thing. However, Steve didn't call it Tom Yum Goong soup did he? Ok, my bad, giving it 5 stars! Thank you for a great recipe! (tip: using shrimp works really well too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easy and delicious! I always get hot & sour chicken soup from the local Thai restaurant when i have a cold- this is just as good (maybe even better) and much cheaper. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States