Thai Grilled Beef Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
made this for a light lunch for myself.. i scaled it down to what would be 1/2 a single serving.. i used what i had on hand.. bottled lemon juice for the lime and left out the kecap manis, shallots, and thai chili peppers.. the dish had more than enough punch so i didn't feel it was missing them.. i wish i would have had the lime though.. i'm sure it would have made it taste much more like the thai steak salads i've had in the past but i still enjoyed this one.. i used half fish sauce and half soy sauce as others did.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Love it! Super spicy. Added red cabbage for more color and crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was super delicious. I used half the fish sauce and substituted 1TB soy sauce + 1 scant TB brown sugar for the kecap manis. Used eye of chuck which is similar to ribeye and pan fried in a very hot cast iron skillet. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great salad. Followed recipe exactly and added toasted peanuts as a garnish. Lovely sweet and sour dressing with just enough of a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Got kind of watery, and the flavors didn't impress me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I thought this salad was AWESOME! Very comparable to what you would get at a Thai restaurant, only 1/4 of the price! It fed my boyfriend and i for under 10$!!! I only used 1/2 the fish oil, and crushed red chili pepper and 1/2 a lemon in place of the chili oil. I also couldnt find the Kecap Manis, so i just omitted it. I can see how it may sweeten it up a bit tho. The store i went to didnt have Thai chili peppers so i used and Anehiem pepper instead. All in all, we were very satisfied with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrica
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was too salty. I made the recipe as written. I even had the kecap manis in my cabinet. There was no balance of flavors, just too much salt. If I make it again (maybe) I would decrease the fish sauce and increase the Kecap Manis. I would even add a little chili-garlic sauce for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Wonderful salad that's very similar to what we typically have in Thai restaurants. I didn't have any cilantro and used parsley instead. It was still good but I think the cilantro would have made it even better. Added sambal oelek (an Indonesian chilli sauce) and chilli flakes for an even spicier taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I felt this dressing had too much fish sauce in it. My husband is on a low sodium diet and it was quite salty. I also added some rice wine vinegar and pepper flakes. Other than that, it had a very good flavor. It is surprising how the flavors blend. I'm not sure I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was SOOOO GOOD! I might cut back on the sesame oil a little next time, but just for my taste preference. I did add a little sugar to the dressing as I like my Asian food pretty sweet. I served this over some chopped iceberg lettuce to make it more of a salad and served a side of white rice as well. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States