Thai Green Curry Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I had to omit the lemon grass as it was way too woody to put through the food processor. The only other changes I made were to add more soy sauce (low-sodium) and a splash of fish sauce. I'm not a big fan of canned baby corn but they worked great in this recipe. Served it over wide rice noodles as that's what I had on hand. Good stuff! Thanks, Lee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very tasty curry, but the texture was too soupy. I used only 3/4 can coconut milk and I couldn`t thick it. I used more soy sauce too. I think, you can use chicken (or maybe beef) in this recipe and make it without green beans and corn (or add later). It will be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! Followed the recipe accurately except for the quantities, can't weigh out grams of this and grams of that... next time it'll come out a bit different - that's the joy of cooking. I used frozen beans and corn and served on basmati rice. Saved and on my list to make again very soon. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The texture of this curry is really thin, so only use a necessary amount of coconut milk, DO NOT use the whole can. I also thought that the taste was a bit too sour. Otherwise, this would make a good green curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
We've made this many times now and it's always a mind-blower! Always best when the green beans are nice and fresh and tender. Made it once with sub-par coconut milk...that was a mistake. Omitted the lemon grass, otherwise followed the recipe. The sauce is soupy buy we just add an arrowroot slurry at the end and it thickens it right up. Will make this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willinajar
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
4 stars with my addition of 2 tsp fish sauce and about 1/2 of the coconut milk. I felt it was a good base recipe, but wasn't at it's best without the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delicious and very fragrant! I used 1 lime instead of 2 because it seemed like a lot, yet it still turned out a little on the sour side so I added some sugar and chopped cashews to soften it. As others mentioned, the consistency was watery. Don't skim on the coconut milk because that's what balances out the lime, I used flour to thicken it and it turned out great. Stir in a teaspoon of fish sauce at the end for perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've made this several times and love it. I usually use pan fried tofu instead of prawns and change up the veggies. I also cut down the lime juice a bit, maybe use only one lime instead of two. I've also made the mistake of using low fat coconut milk which was awful - the regular coconut milk really helps cut the heat and thicken the sauce. I agree with other reviews that you can cut down the amount of milk, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Made this a few times, SO delicious! Its fresh and lively flavor is just perfection! I've never successfully procured lemongrass where I live, so this may hamper my version- not that I'd notice b/c it's so good even without it. One tip I'll share is DON'T use "lite" coconut milk, it makes the sauce slimy and ruins the whole recipe. Try this one, I bet you'll have a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The sauce seemed really unbalanced. First, it was too sour; I added a teaspoon of brown sugar. Then, I added salt—but there was still something missing. We were halfway through dinner before I jumped up, saying, "FISH SAUCE. I knew it was missing something! No 'umami'"! That made it much better. I added red bell pepper and some sliced zucchini and yellow squash instead of baby corn. Leftovers were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States