Thai Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Thai Ginger Soup" is my new "go to" recipe for cold and flu season: it has coconut milk (with the immune-system boosting properties of medium-chain triglycerides); lime juice (rich in vitamin C for fighting infections); and loads of ginger (a traditional medicine). On top of that, it tastes great! I made mine with homemade chicken stock instead of water, and the combination of coconut milk, chicken stock, and ginger tasted excellent on its own without further embellishment, although I did especially like the green-onion garnish on top. It is something to keep in mind if you live in a rural community (like I did while growing up) without access to ingredients like fish sauce, fresh lime juice, and cilantro. Thank you TORIHAWK for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
We loved this. Fixed it using chicken broth instead of water otherwise no changes. Next time I'm thinking I will try this with cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a great and easy recipe. I added baby bok choy to the soup and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkueny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I thought this was delicious. I Made it in the crock pot and kept it on low, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oregon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Simple and delicious. Can add diced carrots, mushrooms and baby corn for extra textures, and a very small Thai pepper for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very tasty, though we modified it some. Used veggie broth instead of water, salad shrimp instead of chicken, the entire bunch of green onions (white & light green parts only), more cilantro, and we added snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Wow - this is fantastic! I added sliced mushrooms, sliced bell pepper, and a minced red chili to the soup to give it a little more substance. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delicious! I sauteed broccoli with a small shallot in some coconut oil and added it to the soup while the broccoli was still somewhat crunchy; I find the broccoli gets too mushy when cooked with the rest of the ingredients in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagGyver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
amazing over rice. very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
DON'T BOIL! Its still edible but it looks horrible. Good soup, I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States