Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH!!! It is so easy and quick! Everyone in my house loves it and I never have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stinkerbell99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING - tasted just like a Thai restaurant, but cheaper when made at home. I didn't change a thing, and I never would. SO perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Was Great ! Just adjusted the white sugar to brown sugar instead and made double the amount of sauce! Served it with quinoa! Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious and simple! I quadrupled the oyster sauce (no fish sauce) and broth because I wanted more sauce to serve over Udon noodles. Skipped the sugar and only used a couple of tablespoons of ginger. I used red, orange and yellow bell peppers, and some white onion. Siracha for the chili paste. This was light and flavorful, I liked that the sauce only had a few ingredients so that there was no flavor competition taking place. So good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I always add a can of coconut milk to this dish at the very end ... superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Dishington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I have made hundreds of recipes from this site. This one is one of the best meals I have made in my life! So good! The only thing that I did different is grating the ginger instead of cutting it (just easier to great a big hunk of frozen ginger then to cut it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was soo good! My boyfriend was licking his plate and he never eats Thai food. I just followed the other reviews, used 1/3 cup of ginger, replaced oyster sauce with fish sauce (since I already had it at home), didn't use sugar, and replaced the jasmine rice with a wild rice, quinoa blend. I also used low sodium chicken broth. Thanks! We will def. be eating this again and I have already shared the recipe with co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is so delicious just as it is. We served it over brown rice to make it a little healthier, but all other ingredients were the same. Just like our Thai restaurant's Ginger Perfect dish YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So yummy! My husband & I loved it. I didn't have fresh ginger though, so I used powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this for my husband for his Valentines Dinner and I followed the recipe right to the limit except that I couldn't find the thai red chili paste but I did find Thai chili dipping sauce which I thoguht would be ok.... Husband said it was not hot spicy enough (and he likes Thai food) so that may have been the problem. I did put a dash of Asian garlic chili sauce to make up for the heat, but still it was not what I was hoping it to be. Considering the cost for all of the ingredients cause I've never made Thai before, I gave away my Fish and Oyster sauce as I know I will not be making this again. Sorry, it was just a glorified stir fry that was just average, and like others have said, there really wasn't enough sauce. It was fun to try though! Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States