Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very authentic tasting! I customized the recipe by mixing with rice noodles instead of serving over rice. To do this I had to double the liquid ingredients to ensure that there was enough sauce to coat the noodles. I also tripled the celantro because of personal taste. This is a great dish that combines many powerful flavors but manages to make them work in perfect harmony with each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I enjoyed this immensely! When you got a strip of ginger it was like a burst of bright flavor. I did not add any additional salt because in my opinion fish sauce is already incredibly salty but I did double everything that contributed to the sauce (broth, fish sauce, oyster sauce, sugar & chili paste) because my family likes sauce to go over their rice. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
WOW! This is one of the best Thai recipes on this website. I've tried plenty, and it's been so difficult to find something that I would eat again. As you can tell, we loved this. Here are the changes we made: -1/3 cup of ginger: be sure to cut it small enough -added one green pepper -doubled the fish sauce, oyster sauce, chili paste, and added a bit more sugar to compensate Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was very good. I couldn't find Thai red chile paste in the grocery store I was at and didn't want to drive to another. So, I substituted oriental red chile garlic sauce. Also added snap peas. Otherwise, followed exactly. Flavor was great and had just the right amount of heat without being overwhelming. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrighkar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigQ
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I thought this was a great ginger chicken recipe. The only change I made was to double both the fish sauce and the oyster sauce after giving it a taste test. Other than that, it was spot on and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Flavorful but not well-loved by half of my family. There isn't any sauce which was a bit off-putting, but it worked for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
great flavor - my husband and son loved it, left off the cilantro (not all of us like it) and didn't miss anything. Especially good with the jasmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this with tofu instead of chicken, added brocoli and snap pees, substituted fish sauce with additional oyster sauce. A great lunch on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This dish tasted just like the Pad King I get at our local Thai restaurant - it was amazing! I used beef instead of chicken, about 1/4 c ginger, doubled the oyster sauce and fish sauce, and used about 1 tsp Thai roasted red chili paste. The fresh cilantro adds a nice depth to the dish. The entire dish was wonderful! I will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ranchwife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alturas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Fantastic! The first time I made it I didn't have chicken so I used thinly cut beef. It was wonderful. Even my picky 7 year old loved it and asked for seconds! I made it a second time with chicken and it turned out great too. But my family preferred the beef. I also added sprouts and thinly sliced carrots for more veggies. Our only complaint was that it didn't make enough. Next time I will 3x's the recipe for our family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States