Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was absolutely incredible! Couldn't believe all the flavors that jumped out of this, and so easy and quick to make! I served it over quinoa. I doubled the fish sauce, oyster sauce, and sugar. Next time I will triple it... maybe. Also added more chile paste because I love heat. Also, I only used a quarter cup of ginger and the ginger flavor was still very pronounced. Super delish. I kind of want to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was excellent! I didn't have oyster sauce but it worked out okay with just fish. I accidentally put in 2 tbsp of chili paste (while looking at the broth line) instead of 1/2 tsp, but it was the Thai Kitchen brand which is fairly wimpy and I can eat it right out of the jar anyhow. I used 1/3 cup ginger instead of 1/2 as some other posters had suggested and that was plenty. I might double the garlic next time. Other than that I followed the instructions as written. It was great and I had to fight not to eat the whole thing. This is only maybe the third stir-fry proper I've made in my new wok and FINALLY it actually tasted stir fried, not too soggy or two done. One note, the steps don't say when to put the oil in. The obvious place would be in the wok after it heated which is where I put it, but someone new to cooking with a wok might forget because it's not listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We've been eating Thai out a lot lately. I decided to try some at home. This was a great choice. I did not use the full amount of ginger because I did not have that much. I didn't measure it, but I think I added 2-3 tablespoons. A full 1/2 cup would have been overpowering. I, also, did not add the bell pepper because we do not care for them. The chili paste I used was some I got from the Asian market, so I don't know if it was Thai. We really enjoyed the results. It was pretty quick to make and would be great for a weeknight meal. Next time, I may add more vegetables like carrots and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Love the subtle ginger taste in this! I did not have enough ginger, so added some ginger powder to the dish. Also, I did not have oyster sauce, so I used a scant tbsp of thick dark soy sauce and topped the tbsp with more fish sauce. Also, used a heaping tsp of red chile paste as we like spicy dishes. Omitted the chicken broth as there was plenty of juice in the skillet. Definitely something to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was an amazing dish! I love Thai food and eat it regularly but was too afraid to cook it. This was simple. The trick I found is to make sure you have EVERYTHING cut and chopped prior to putting the chicken in the skillet. I kept it exactly as the recipe called for and it was fantastic. Just like the restaurant! I've already shared it many friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Loved it and it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very easy and delicious. I added jalapeño. Prepared as directed. I used brown rice. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was really good. I doubled the vegetables and sauce, and cut the rice way down, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Wonderful favored dish! I like new recipes to try. I had gone to a Thai restaurant and I could not make up my mind when this was on the menu so I thought I would try this at home. I used a few hot pepper flakes instead of the red chili paste which was just fine. I thought there was not enough veggies so I added a cup of chopped celery. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful. I will definitely make this again. To save time, I used leftover turkey. The only thing I would do differently is to double the Thai chile sauce, but that's just personal taste. Thank you Shae's Mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States