Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So yummy! My husband & I loved it. I didn't have fresh ginger though, so I used powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this for my husband for his Valentines Dinner and I followed the recipe right to the limit except that I couldn't find the thai red chili paste but I did find Thai chili dipping sauce which I thoguht would be ok.... Husband said it was not hot spicy enough (and he likes Thai food) so that may have been the problem. I did put a dash of Asian garlic chili sauce to make up for the heat, but still it was not what I was hoping it to be. Considering the cost for all of the ingredients cause I've never made Thai before, I gave away my Fish and Oyster sauce as I know I will not be making this again. Sorry, it was just a glorified stir fry that was just average, and like others have said, there really wasn't enough sauce. It was fun to try though! Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was the perfect meal! I made it as is (doubling the oyster sauce and fish sauce from other suggestions, but after doing it didn't think it was totally necessary). The flavours were rich, fresh and restaurant worthy. I love thai and I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
AMAZING! Only change I made was doubled the oyster sauce and fish sauce and added an additional 2 tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe is delicious and is a staple in our household. NO modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Like the other reviewers I like to alter it. The bottom line: Once the chicken/garlic/fish/oyster sauce/ginger has been put in, you can add whatever vegetables you like to this. I like different mushrooms and chunks of onion in addition to the green onions. I imagine water chestnuts and a bit of cabbage would be good too. Instead of the paste, I thinly slice serrano peppers (4) to add the heat I like. I've eaten this to the point that the heat is painful, but the flavor outweighs the pain and I'd do it again. I also add a little cornstarch at the end to the liquid to thicken it up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
tastes good, but smells awful. I'll probably omit the fish sauce next time to lessen the smell left in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very Tasty and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
We thought this was good, but not great. I'm sure the Thai Kitchen red curry was to blame -- even though I doubled it, there was no real punch to this. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this dish! In addition to making it as is (though I do double or triple the sauce), another version is to make just the sauce part, stir fry whatever vegetables I have on hand, cook a package of Udon noodles and toss them in with the sauce and veggies - tastes just like a noodle bowl at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States