Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe is delicious and is a staple in our household. NO modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Like the other reviewers I like to alter it. The bottom line: Once the chicken/garlic/fish/oyster sauce/ginger has been put in, you can add whatever vegetables you like to this. I like different mushrooms and chunks of onion in addition to the green onions. I imagine water chestnuts and a bit of cabbage would be good too. Instead of the paste, I thinly slice serrano peppers (4) to add the heat I like. I've eaten this to the point that the heat is painful, but the flavor outweighs the pain and I'd do it again. I also add a little cornstarch at the end to the liquid to thicken it up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
tastes good, but smells awful. I'll probably omit the fish sauce next time to lessen the smell left in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very Tasty and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
We thought this was good, but not great. I'm sure the Thai Kitchen red curry was to blame -- even though I doubled it, there was no real punch to this. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this dish! In addition to making it as is (though I do double or triple the sauce), another version is to make just the sauce part, stir fry whatever vegetables I have on hand, cook a package of Udon noodles and toss them in with the sauce and veggies - tastes just like a noodle bowl at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was absolutely incredible! Couldn't believe all the flavors that jumped out of this, and so easy and quick to make! I served it over quinoa. I doubled the fish sauce, oyster sauce, and sugar. Next time I will triple it... maybe. Also added more chile paste because I love heat. Also, I only used a quarter cup of ginger and the ginger flavor was still very pronounced. Super delish. I kind of want to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was excellent! I didn't have oyster sauce but it worked out okay with just fish. I accidentally put in 2 tbsp of chili paste (while looking at the broth line) instead of 1/2 tsp, but it was the Thai Kitchen brand which is fairly wimpy and I can eat it right out of the jar anyhow. I used 1/3 cup ginger instead of 1/2 as some other posters had suggested and that was plenty. I might double the garlic next time. Other than that I followed the instructions as written. It was great and I had to fight not to eat the whole thing. This is only maybe the third stir-fry proper I've made in my new wok and FINALLY it actually tasted stir fried, not too soggy or two done. One note, the steps don't say when to put the oil in. The obvious place would be in the wok after it heated which is where I put it, but someone new to cooking with a wok might forget because it's not listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We've been eating Thai out a lot lately. I decided to try some at home. This was a great choice. I did not use the full amount of ginger because I did not have that much. I didn't measure it, but I think I added 2-3 tablespoons. A full 1/2 cup would have been overpowering. I, also, did not add the bell pepper because we do not care for them. The chili paste I used was some I got from the Asian market, so I don't know if it was Thai. We really enjoyed the results. It was pretty quick to make and would be great for a weeknight meal. Next time, I may add more vegetables like carrots and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Love the subtle ginger taste in this! I did not have enough ginger, so added some ginger powder to the dish. Also, I did not have oyster sauce, so I used a scant tbsp of thick dark soy sauce and topped the tbsp with more fish sauce. Also, used a heaping tsp of red chile paste as we like spicy dishes. Omitted the chicken broth as there was plenty of juice in the skillet. Definitely something to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States