Thai Ginger Chicken (Gai Pad King) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Hi I am Thai. Just want to feed back on the original recipe. Gai Pad King means Kai = chicken Pad = Stir fry King = Ginger. Overall recipe is ok except that we do not use red chile paste for this type of dish. If you prefer hot favor, you may add fresh slice big chilli for this dish (bird eye chilli is not for this dish. Spicy favor from this dish should be from the ginger not from chilli or chilli paste. If you dont like the smell of fish sauce, you may use light soy sauce. You may also substitute chicken with fish (pla) or pork (moo) too. This dish is grate if you have stomach upset since the ginger can help in digestion. Enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This recipe really was outstanding. The only change I made was to use about 1/3 cup of chicken stock and I served it with brown rice. My husband and I ate the whole batch in one sitting. I added more chile paste to mine at the table (I like it SPICY). I'll definitely be making this many more times. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyAJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ojibwa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Made this for supper tonight and it was was soooooo good! We're not fond of super-spicy food in our house, so I halved the amount of chili paste and it was just right for us. Otherwise, I went right along with the recipe, and I was not disappointed. I will make this again, and I will double-maybe triple-the recipe, as we had NO leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Fridy Rector

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is wonderful! My husband and I ate the entire dish but pushed back on the rice As we are trying to cut carbs. For the most part followed the recipe as written. I used extra garlic and Thai paste. We added extra hot sauce at the table. It's always great when you have the necessary ingredients on hand. I had it all except cilantro for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I tried this tonight and it was delicious!!! The only thing that I changed was that I doubled the fish and oyster sauce and barely used salt because the sauces have high sodium content. Overall, this was an easy and yummy recipe that will become a staple in my dinner arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
LOVE THIS DISH!!! It is so easy and quick! Everyone in my house loves it and I never have leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was AMAZING - tasted just like a Thai restaurant, but cheaper when made at home. I didn't change a thing, and I never would. SO perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Was Great ! Just adjusted the white sugar to brown sugar instead and made double the amount of sauce! Served it with quinoa! Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious and simple! I quadrupled the oyster sauce (no fish sauce) and broth because I wanted more sauce to serve over Udon noodles. Skipped the sugar and only used a couple of tablespoons of ginger. I used red, orange and yellow bell peppers, and some white onion. Siracha for the chili paste. This was light and flavorful, I liked that the sauce only had a few ingredients so that there was no flavor competition taking place. So good, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I always add a can of coconut milk to this dish at the very end ... superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Dishington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States