Thai Fried Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My batches were soggy. How do you make them crunchy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nam Tswv Tuam Vaaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Tried it out as a possible dessert for a dinner party but its just not something I enjoyed. Possibly one small piece on the side of coconut ice cream, but wouldn't want the bananas to be the main part of the dessert. Not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious and easy. All the guests were hollering for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I found this recipe is perfect, read the directions, you add the liquid a little at a time until you get the thin consistency needed. Almost like cream. It's not supposed to be thick !!!! Ive been to Thailand many times and this is popular street food and often made in Thai homes. The batter is supposed to be very very thin.... Just a sheer coating to yield a veil of sweet crispness, to accent the sweet banana, not over power it. If you want something with a deep fried thick batter, you may want to try a corn dog instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Good desert. Tastes as good as my favorite Thai restaurant. Have to point one thing out. I saw some reviews that said the batter was to thin. I would say to them, please actually read the recipe. It clearly states to mix the ingredients and slowly add water until the batter is thick. If you are dense enough to just dump everything in the bowl. including the water, and not read the directions, then you deserve thin batter. Also, we are not talking about deep frying here. This recipe gives a nice, simple, coating of batter while letting the banana speak for itself. There is no reason to add a thousand calories to this recipe by making it with a thick coating of fried batter. I covered my finished product with cinnamon and honey and topped with reduced fat vanilla ice cream and fat free whip cream. This recipe is very simple and quick. It took me less than 10 minutes to produce the finished product. I left out the tapioca flour, as I didn't have it any on hand. I also had coconut water and fresh coconut available so I used those ingredients instead of what was suggested in the recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has been saved and will be made many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DJ
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Because most reviews say the batter comes out way too thin, I just used pancake mix. To make the pancake batter I used half water and half coconut milk and I did use a little extra of the mix to thicken it up a bit and then I also added 2 tablespoons vanilla extract. It cam out amazing this way!! To make it even better pair it with homemade coconut ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ
Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Friends and I wanted to make Pad Thai, so I looked for other recipes to go with it, and it needed to be gluten free. I used the calculator to cut down the portions. These were a big hit with everyone, including the kids. I did thicken the batter slightly. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCicerello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious......my changes were: I used 1c of rice flour instead of tapioca flour (because I had none), and I used milk in place of the water. I only used 3/4c of milk at the most & doubled the amount of coconut.....the batter was no where near runny! sprinkle w/ powdered sugar too & serve warm w/honey;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celtickel72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This batter is impossibly thin. As others complained about this, I only added half the water, but even then the batter barely coats the banana. As there is no egg or baking powder in this recipe, the batter doesn't increase in size as it fries. If you're looking for a batter of any substantive size around the banana, this is not the recipe for you. There is just the thinnest coating on the banana -- not at all like any of the fried banana desserts I've tried at Thai restaurants. After this, I looked up other recipes online, and some (with different ingredients) said to let the batter sit for an hour. Perhaps this batter would have been better if it had sat for an hour, but I won't be trying it again. Two stars for the shredded coconut in the batter -- that's a deliciously innovative addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made these for a multicultural potluck at school. To make the recipe easier and cut down on costs i used instant pancake mix, substituting coconut milk for the water. I added the shredded coconut and a little lime zest to the prepared pancake mix, dipped the banana slices in the batter and fried. They came out wonderful. I served them with honey and lime wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States