Thai Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kasuni Silva
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Great recipe! Everyone loved it! Only thing is to add a pinch of red Thai chillies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I found these very bland, and because the fish was raw I didn't taste the seasoning before I made them. I used a combination of fresh crab meat, shrimp and tilapia fillets. I also added fresh lime juice and a bit of grated lemon grass. If I were to make these again, I would puree less so there was more texture and add ginger, garlic, salt, lemon grass and more cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this recipe with Basa, which is a great fish that comes from Vietnam or Thailand. It's good eating and usually a bit cheaper. I used about 1.5 pounds because that's what I had. I upped some of the other ingredients as recommended by a previous review but I could have still jazzed it up even further. I might also add some salt to the mix but that's just me, I'm a salty guy. However, the fish cakes came out great. I added more flour to the mixture but as I think my fish was a tad "wet" I should have added more. They were a task to get into patties and I had to keep rolling them in flour to make them solid enough to form. I guess you live and learn so when I make them again (which I will) I will know better. When I did get them in the pan they totally behaved themselves and turn a lovely golden brown. I also mixed some of the oyster, fish, and sweet chili sauce for dipping and that worked out good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Good, but the "dough" was sticky and required a lot of extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Loved it! I used leftover salmon; subbed quarter of a white onion (chopped) for the green onion. Needed a dipping sauce, so I made a lemon-paprika aioli: 2 T mayonnaise thinned with fresh lemon juice, one garlic clove minced, minced, 1 t tomato paste (for color), 1/2 teaspoons paprika and a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I didn't use the green onion or cilantro cause I didn't have any, but added garlic. Was not "bland" but needed some aditional flavor or sauce. Very good none the less, but could be improved with an extra spice or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Absolutely fantastic when made with dughr's suggestions!! In addition, I add a couple cloves of garlic and coat the cakes with italian bread crumbs, rather than flour. I make a dipping sauce with mayonnaise, red pepper and a touch of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Instant family favourite! We only blend 3/4 of the fish though, and chop the last 1/4 into chunks to add a bit of texture to the cakes. We also cover in breadcrumbs (freshly made) because we like them crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Turned out really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe was very tasty, even without the cilantro. I also added some sweet corn to the second half of the mix which added a nice dimension, though not very thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaileemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States