Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
For the recipe as it is I would probably give it 2/5 stars but making it with modifications I would give it 4.5/5. I added a jalapeño, doubled the garlic, added more curry powder, and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I like tofu and I like curry but I was not sure how they would taste together. Very good, even my teenagers liked it. The cilantro added a great flavor that suprised me as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
A little bland, but a good base recipe to add your own unique twist to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Fabulous. I sauteed some snap peas, red pepper and green onions to make a more substantial dish. 1 TBS salt seemed too much to me, so I put 1 tsp and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe was a good base, but too bland for my liking as is. I did use light coconut milk and it was a 13.5 oz. can. I fried my tofu in peanut oil (be sure to press out the water first!) and, instead of seasoned salt, splashed several shakes of fish sauce and then a few shakes of each of the following: onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, celery seeds, coriander, fresh ground black pepper and cayenne. Start light on the fish sauce and add to taste - I added a few more shakes later on to the sauce as it was simmering, but fish sauce is quite salty so go easy at first. After I added the coconut milk to the garlic and onion, I added two chopped, dried Thai chilies along with the cilantro and tofu. The chilies add a lot of spice and give a good amount of kick, but are probably too spicy for those who aren't into spicy food. Then I added 1 green and 1 red bell pepper and a mix of mushrooms. I tossed in a couple handfuls of roasted, unsalted cashews a minute or two before serving. Served over rice noodles and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dannytheintern
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very easy to make and it tastes great! I noticed that there was a surprisingly high amount of fat in this recipe and it's source being the coconut milk. I experimented and used half the required amount and it still came out great. I added the tofu to rice for a more filling meal. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great family recipe. Two of the three kids ate it! Next time I'll hold back a bit on the seasoned salt. My husband and I like a little more zing to a curry so we added red pepper flakes at the table. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I have made it several times, and had trouble getting a flavorful meal for a while. The key I have found is to use a GOOD CURRY. I buy mine bulk from the local natural foods store, but when I was using a generic brand curry I simply could not get a full flavorful dish. With the good curry I finally found, I use about 2 tbsp of it and I add a little spice to the dish as well, usually sriracha. I also add in frozen veggies like broccoli and peas when I add the coconut milk and spices, and that typically allows time for them to thaw and cook while it is simmering. I always use extra firm tofu and 'press' my tofu before cubing and cooking. This involves placing on a cuting board or other surface and stacking books or other heavy items on top. I additionally always cook my tofu on medium-high heat for a while to get nice crispy edges. All in all, this recipe will turn out great if you use a good curry spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Excellent! Both my hubby and I love this...no changes needed! We'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Followed the advice of others and cut down on the seasoned salt/regular salt, but upped the curry and added a bit of cumin and cayenne. Also threw in matchstick carrots and snow peas, and I used low-fat coconut milk. Results were very tasty. Next time I'll add less onion, though, if any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States