Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I make this soup almost every week! I make it veggie by using veggie broth and mushrooms or tofu for the shrimp. I've never added the lemon grass and often leave out the cilantro and/or green onions and it doesn't seem to suffer. also, I use full fat coconut milk. Also, since the soup never lasts more than a day i add the noodles straight to it. 3/4 or so of the spinach seems like plenty to me. All in all a great a forgiving recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really lovely! I followed the recipe almost exactly except that I made it veggie (vegetable broth and no shrimp). Next time I'll add a bit more curry to up the spice, but that's just a personal preference. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy! I omitted mushrooms, and instead put red bell pepper strips in it. Also less curry paste - it was still hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Excellent. Not spicy enough for me so next time I will add some crushed red pepper flakes. But otherwise, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
AWESOME! There are NO Thai restaurants around here and we miss curry soup... this turned out sooo good. I didn't have baby spinach, could only find green curry paste, used veggie broth and tofu to make it vegetarian and added a bit more coconut milk. Thought it was too salty when I first tasted it, but when the noodles are added it is PERFECT! Such a good recipe, my husband and I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ilmenau, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
LOVED IT! My husband must have said 10 times how much he loved this soup while he was eating it. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I didn't use the cilantro (not a fan, at all.) Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. If you like your curries on the HOT side, you may want to add some red pepper flakes. The great thing about this soup is it's a meal all by itself. And it's somewhat healthy so you don't feel guilty eating a large bowl of it. Try this one, you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I love this soup!!! I usually only make vegetarian soups though so i exclude the shrimp from the pot. I make this every time my boyfriend travels for work, and I eat it all week long. It's a great thing to come home and look forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Master

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I added wedges of red onion and tomato. I left out the cilantro. I wanted it to taste like the thai curry soup at noodles and company. I think I succeeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I love this soup! I've made it several times and don't really change many things. I do like it with a little more heat so sometimes I add different types of curry and different proteins. The basic recipe is great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Made this tonight (yeah, it's June but freezing here in Seattle). This soup was so good I couldn't stop eating it. Thanks for ruining my diet. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States