Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. I was out of lime so I had to omit it. It would have added to the depth of flavors so next time, I'll make sure I have it on hand. There definitely was a kick to the soup, but it was a nice heat, and leftovers reheated nicely for lunch the next day. I'll be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I make this soup almost every week! I make it veggie by using veggie broth and mushrooms or tofu for the shrimp. I've never added the lemon grass and often leave out the cilantro and/or green onions and it doesn't seem to suffer. also, I use full fat coconut milk. Also, since the soup never lasts more than a day i add the noodles straight to it. 3/4 or so of the spinach seems like plenty to me. All in all a great a forgiving recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really lovely! I followed the recipe almost exactly except that I made it veggie (vegetable broth and no shrimp). Next time I'll add a bit more curry to up the spice, but that's just a personal preference. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy! I omitted mushrooms, and instead put red bell pepper strips in it. Also less curry paste - it was still hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Excellent. Not spicy enough for me so next time I will add some crushed red pepper flakes. But otherwise, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was really good. I used chicken and different veggies for my personal taste. I like that you can easily substitute what you like. I will make it a little spicier next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very interesting soup. It's definitely a soup for spinach-lovers. The only two substitutions I made were rice for the rice noodles, and a chicken breast cut up in bite-sized pieces, in place of the shrimp. I used mild red curry paste, but you may want to spice it up a bit. Found a 3 oz. frozen container of chopped lemon grass (also called "Sa Bam") at an oriental food store for about $1.50 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
AWESOME! There are NO Thai restaurants around here and we miss curry soup... this turned out sooo good. I didn't have baby spinach, could only find green curry paste, used veggie broth and tofu to make it vegetarian and added a bit more coconut milk. Thought it was too salty when I first tasted it, but when the noodles are added it is PERFECT! Such a good recipe, my husband and I loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Ilmenau, Thüringen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
LOVED IT! My husband must have said 10 times how much he loved this soup while he was eating it. I followed the recipe exactly as written except I didn't use the cilantro (not a fan, at all.) Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. If you like your curries on the HOT side, you may want to add some red pepper flakes. The great thing about this soup is it's a meal all by itself. And it's somewhat healthy so you don't feel guilty eating a large bowl of it. Try this one, you will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I love this soup!!! I usually only make vegetarian soups though so i exclude the shrimp from the pot. I make this every time my boyfriend travels for work, and I eat it all week long. It's a great thing to come home and look forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Master

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States