Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was pretty good but not spectacular. I added more goodies, some snap peas and red peppers. I think next time I'll skip the lime juice and soy, a good curry paste has enough salt and sour in it so it might be better balance without. For those who skipped the lemon grass, in Thailand they never hack up the lemon grass. Hit it with the handle of your knife or a meat cleaver, then tie it into a knot. Throw it in the pot and let it simmer then simply remove the whole piece before serving :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Awesome! Better than I even hoped for. Only thing was I found 1/2 cup of mushrooms to be no where near enough! I added 1 1/2 cups, and it could have used 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I pretty much did this one by the book. Only changes were I used more noodles--there's a lot of liquid--probably 4 oz. I didn't have spinach, but I had arugula and that worked fine. Then I tasted when done and decided it was very bland so I basically ended up squeezing one whole lime, added another tbl. of sugar and then I added a good dollop of sesame chili oil. It definitely needed some heat. And I also added more cilantro because we just love cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
SO easy! This has been an extremely big hit with my friends and family. Can make broth ahead of time then add coconut milk, shrimp, mushrooms & spinach 5 min. before eating. The only suggestion I have is to cook mushrooms a little longer before adding spinach and shrimp. They are then a little softer, depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Would have given 5 stars but I added oyster sauce and fish sauce to give the soup some needed depth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This soup was awesome. It is pretty close to Noodles & Co. thai curry soup, which I love! Instead of green onions I added red, and also added some tomato since Noodles' version has both those. I add tofu too instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This soup was awesome with chicken. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Just made this tonight on a whim. I had the basic ingredients and thankfully the red curry paste. Did not have shrimp, but used leftover bbq grilled chicken. I improvised with the ingredients I had on hand. Used garlic from a tube (Gourmet Garden) and ginger in a tube from the asian mkt. I used full fat coconut milk, skipped the spinach and cilantro (did not have). I used 2 True Lime packets for the fresh lime juice. The flavors were spot on. Even my 6-yr-old loved it. She asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I used the cilantro-lime shrimp you get at Costco and instead of rice noodles and red curry paste, I used japanese noodles and one of those concentrated curry bars. Excellent, I made it twice in one week it was such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! I used vegetable broth and left out the lemon grass. Next time I will try it with tofu instead of shrimp. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States