Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made as-is this recipe was bland. The only ingredient I was missing is the lemongrass, which I couldn't find. I ended up tripling the amount of the red curry, adding onion powder and red pepper flakes to get this to a better flavor. The end result was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Of all the ethnic recipes I have tried on this site, this one was truly outstanding! My hubby loved it! Like we all do, I tweaked a little. I served it as a main dish so I doubled the shrimp. And because we love it spicy, I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. This one goes on my repeat frequently list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very flavorful. I skipped the spinach because I didn't like the idea of large leaves of soggy spinach, so instead I put a handful of basil in with the cilantro and I really liked how herbal and fragrant it made the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made only a few minor adjustments to the recipe, which I'm sure didn't alter the final results much. I used chicken instead of shrimp. I cut the chicken in thin strips, cooked it a bit in the oil, removed, then continued with the recipe, adding the chicken back in towards the end. I also used lemon grass powder (about 1/2 tsp.) instead of fresh lemon grass, left out the soy sauce and added a couple of squirts of fish sauce. Also used brown sugar instead of the white. It was fantastic! Very similar to "The Best Thai Coconut Soup" recipe, also on this site, which is another favorite of ours. I did enjoy the addition of the spinach in this recipe though. Hubs said it's a "do again"! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Didn't have lemon grass, so skipped it. Used chicken instead of shrimp. Skipped mushrooms, spinach, and green onions because I didn't have them. Still absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I added mushrooms and used the lemongrass in the tube. Add more curry paste for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Reece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this several times and it's always delicious. Healthy, easy and filling too. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great Soup! Serve over rice, and much less cilantro- especially if using fresh cilantro. Add curry powder if you like more of the curry flavor (or sprinkle the powder on after like I did). I did not add shrimp, spinach or mushrooms... tasted great without them. Add more garlic for sure! I also used leeks instead of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This had excellent flavor and we LOVED it. Would have gotten 5 stars except that the lemongrass remained hard and crunchy. Like eating cut up straw in your soup. Will definitely be making again either without the lemongrass or with the lemongrass in a tea strainer for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My wife loves this recipe when I make it. I do, however, make a few alterations. Instead of having minced lemongrass I cut fresh lemongrass into large chunks(couple inches long at least) and hammer it a bit to break up the cellulose and release the oils then fish it out of the pot later when its done. I also use Coconut Aminos instead of Soy Sauce as my daughter has a soy allergy. Using lime marinated shrimp is also good(you can get pre-done at Costco).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States