Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I added mushrooms and used the lemongrass in the tube. Add more curry paste for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Reece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this several times and it's always delicious. Healthy, easy and filling too. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Great Soup! Serve over rice, and much less cilantro- especially if using fresh cilantro. Add curry powder if you like more of the curry flavor (or sprinkle the powder on after like I did). I did not add shrimp, spinach or mushrooms... tasted great without them. Add more garlic for sure! I also used leeks instead of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This had excellent flavor and we LOVED it. Would have gotten 5 stars except that the lemongrass remained hard and crunchy. Like eating cut up straw in your soup. Will definitely be making again either without the lemongrass or with the lemongrass in a tea strainer for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My wife loves this recipe when I make it. I do, however, make a few alterations. Instead of having minced lemongrass I cut fresh lemongrass into large chunks(couple inches long at least) and hammer it a bit to break up the cellulose and release the oils then fish it out of the pot later when its done. I also use Coconut Aminos instead of Soy Sauce as my daughter has a soy allergy. Using lime marinated shrimp is also good(you can get pre-done at Costco).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I add 1 tsp. of Thai hot oil for a bit of kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcooljam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Awesome! Doubled the curry, everything else exactly as written. Our student from Thailand said it was delicious and wants me to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Great soup. I didn't have red curry paste, so I used green. Also, I couldn't find lemon grass at my grocery store, so I just left it out. I also used fresh ginger instead of ground. Finally, I doubled the recipe, but put in 7x (14 oz) of noodles, and we still ate them all. We are a noodle loving family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I had to improvise a bit since I didn't have red curry paste (used curry powder) or lemongrass, but the end result was amazing. My dad tried it and said it tasted like something from a restaurant. I wanted a coconut curry soup and feel like I found exactly what I needed to be creative again in the future, as this is a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was good, better the next day. I agree with the poster who said the shrimp really do not add anything to the dish tho.. would be just as good without. Next time will make it meatless, or maybe try chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States