Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Haven't tried it yet but it looks good. What on earth is "cilantro" though, and where do I get it? I've never heard of it. It would be nice if a description of strange and unusual ingredients were included. Also, what are "green onions"? Over here (I'm in London, GB) we have red onions and white onions. Never seen green onions before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
The whole family loves this recipe (even our 2 and 5 year old). Read another review and added tofu to the recipe and it turned out fabulous :) Perfect any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was really nice. I took the advice of many others and added tofu. I would add more than the amount of chicken required though. I also didn't add nearly the amount of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really flavorful, loved it! Omitted the lemongrass (hard to find here) and used frozen cooked shrimp, thawed and added during the last few minutes of cooking. Also used regular, not low-fat, coconut milk. I prepare rice noodles this way... Soak noodles in cold water for about 30 minutes to soften, drain and add to boiling water for 1-2 minutes until tender, drain. Other methods seem to make mushy noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was such a hit with us, restaurant quality. My only negative is that it is somewhat expensive to buy all the ingredients. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I added 2 more cups of broth, ~1 cup (before cooking) rice, more curry paste (green), some ground red pepper and omitted the mushrooms... and I'm pretty happy with the results! I think it would also be better without the meat (using tofu instead, or just none at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really wanted to love this recipe on a cold snowy night, but it was just OK. Hopefully it will taste better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
love recipe. i omit the shrimp and mushrooms, add shredded carrots and peanut sauce to the noodles. makes soup a little heartier. a favourite i make as often as a i can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Incredible recipe! I used brown rice instead of rice noodles (but only because it's what I had), green curry paste instead of red, brown sugar instead of white, and a pinch of red pepper flakes. You could easily serve it without rice or noodles for a wonderful appetizer soup, but is great as is for a dinner soup. I can't wait to serve it to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is very good with firm tofu. I used 3 cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon of grated ginger, 3 oz shiitake mushrooms, and about 6 oz spinach. Since I wasn't able to find yellow curry paste, I used curry powder and tweaked the spices until it tasted right. Also good with rice instead of noodles (both are good). This is a new favorite of ours. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States