Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
No spicy heat! I added 1/2 tp of siracha/serving and replaced shrimp with tofu. Liked it a lot w/more heat. Th!is one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Not even close to spicy. I think I tripled the curry paste to get a good thai "heat" out of the dish. Only used a can of chicken broth. Had both bok choy and spinach so I used both for that. Doubled the shrimp. Added a can of bamboo shoots instead of mushrooms. Left out the lemon grass since it wasn't on hand. Next time I will add some petite frozen peas to the mix for more texture and greens. Nice recipe though, very close flavor to what my Thai aunt makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is delicious, even with a few modifications I had to make. I used chicken instead of shrimp, frozen spinach instead of fresh, garlic powder instead of cloves, and left out the lemon grass. Even with all of these shortcuts, it was still delicious and reminded me of Noodles and Co.'s dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent dish. I've been looking for a recipe to keep me out of Noodles and Co. and their Thai Curry Soup and this is almost exactly like it. Just added tomato wedges and fresh Asian basil and a squirt of sriracha sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Amazing - incredible - delicious - wow. This is my favorite recipe on this site so far, both for the fact that I followed it almost exactly and that it turned out incredibly like the 'authentic' versions I've had before. I can see this becoming a regular part of my routine. The best part is the fluidity with the veggies and meat. You can really change it up, but I would recommend keeping the base consistent. Thank you Kaeli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Haven't tried it yet but it looks good. What on earth is "cilantro" though, and where do I get it? I've never heard of it. It would be nice if a description of strange and unusual ingredients were included. Also, what are "green onions"? Over here (I'm in London, GB) we have red onions and white onions. Never seen green onions before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
The whole family loves this recipe (even our 2 and 5 year old). Read another review and added tofu to the recipe and it turned out fabulous :) Perfect any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was really nice. I took the advice of many others and added tofu. I would add more than the amount of chicken required though. I also didn't add nearly the amount of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Really flavorful, loved it! Omitted the lemongrass (hard to find here) and used frozen cooked shrimp, thawed and added during the last few minutes of cooking. Also used regular, not low-fat, coconut milk. I prepare rice noodles this way... Soak noodles in cold water for about 30 minutes to soften, drain and add to boiling water for 1-2 minutes until tender, drain. Other methods seem to make mushy noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was such a hit with us, restaurant quality. My only negative is that it is somewhat expensive to buy all the ingredients. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States