Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I love soup...I love curry. I LOVE this recipe...its honestly my current fave recipe.I also made a few small adjustments and it was still very flavorful. I used yellow curry powder and chile garlic paste. Did not have lemon grass..but will try it next time. I added some shrimp..and it was delish. I will be eating this whole pot of soup today, most likely! (oh and i felt a cold coming on...well, my head is clear and i sweat out something while eating..its a cure!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was quite tasty and everyone in our house enjoyed it...as well as our neighbors (we share recipes a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I made this last night..it turned out sooo good! I felt like there were a lot of ingredients but it all adds to the flavor of it...I will definitely be making this again..and making double the amount above so I can have leftovers..I had a hard time finding the minced lemon grass so I substituted it for fresh lemongrass..which seemed to give it the same flavor...This is a definite A+ from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I TOTALLY agree with Dranoel...if you like heat, this recipe is in need of some siracha chili sauce. But I didn't add it to the recipe, because it's just as easy to add to the soup at serving...a lot of people don't like super spicy. I made a few changes...I used 2 small diced shallots along with the garlic. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass at my local grocer, so I used a combination of pureed lemon grass out of the squeeze tube (which I sauteed with the garlic and shallot) and dried lemon grass, which I added as well with the broth. I didn't have any fresh mushrooms on hand, so I used a 1oz bag of dried porchini mushrooms. While the soup was simmering, I added shredded carrots, green beans, 1 chopped red bell pepper and 1 1/2 cup of shelled edamame beans. I used Light Coconut Milk. Instead of adding shrimp, I opted to keep this recipe vegetarian, and finished off with the fresh spinach and green onion. This one is a versatile soup - a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
No spicy heat! I added 1/2 tp of siracha/serving and replaced shrimp with tofu. Liked it a lot w/more heat. Th!is one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Not even close to spicy. I think I tripled the curry paste to get a good thai "heat" out of the dish. Only used a can of chicken broth. Had both bok choy and spinach so I used both for that. Doubled the shrimp. Added a can of bamboo shoots instead of mushrooms. Left out the lemon grass since it wasn't on hand. Next time I will add some petite frozen peas to the mix for more texture and greens. Nice recipe though, very close flavor to what my Thai aunt makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is delicious, even with a few modifications I had to make. I used chicken instead of shrimp, frozen spinach instead of fresh, garlic powder instead of cloves, and left out the lemon grass. Even with all of these shortcuts, it was still delicious and reminded me of Noodles and Co.'s dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Excellent dish. I've been looking for a recipe to keep me out of Noodles and Co. and their Thai Curry Soup and this is almost exactly like it. Just added tomato wedges and fresh Asian basil and a squirt of sriracha sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Amazing - incredible - delicious - wow. This is my favorite recipe on this site so far, both for the fact that I followed it almost exactly and that it turned out incredibly like the 'authentic' versions I've had before. I can see this becoming a regular part of my routine. The best part is the fluidity with the veggies and meat. You can really change it up, but I would recommend keeping the base consistent. Thank you Kaeli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Haven't tried it yet but it looks good. What on earth is "cilantro" though, and where do I get it? I've never heard of it. It would be nice if a description of strange and unusual ingredients were included. Also, what are "green onions"? Over here (I'm in London, GB) we have red onions and white onions. Never seen green onions before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States