Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is probably the best soup I have ever made. I used tofu instead of shrimp and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. It was restaurant quality, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana B.ee
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I absolutely loved this soup! I could not find Lemongrass, so I had to do without. I also could not find Curry paste, so I used about half a cup of a curry cooking sauce. It still worked out pretty well, but I think next time I will find an Asian market to get curry paste, I have the feeling it will really make the soup ten times better. It was super easy for anyone that wants to try cooking Thai and is a little hesitant. I am going to have the leftovers for dinner tonight too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe is perfect- and my 2010 crowd pleaser. I have made this recipe on 4 occasions the past 6 weeks. First time exactly as the recipe was written. Second time I used green curry paste- equally as delicious. Third time I made it with chicken- again great. Tonight I am experimenting with yellow curry paste and strips of turkey. I cannot wait!!! It always looks amazing in the bowl- my guests have no idea how simple it is to make and always comment on all my effort- if only they knew! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Not bad. I used Thai Red Curry Paste (added more than listed), changed spinach for bok choi, palm sugar instead of white, used shitake mushrooms and added more lime juice than listed. I also used fresh ginger rather than powder and finely chopped lemon grass rather than minced. It tasted better the day after (as with most curry based recipes), though I may add the shrimp the day after next time to keep it less rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchell_2au

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This soup is FANTASTIC! I like to substitute the shrimp for fresh mushrooms, and vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it a bit healthier. Also- instead of spinach, I use Bok Choy it makes for a really nice flavor. My favorite soup by far!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I was hoping the people who said these was bland were wrong and those who said it was like Noodles & Co were right. Unfortunately, this was disappointingly bland, and just tasted like liquid with a hint of lime. The good thing about that is my 4 yr old won't complain it's spicy. I'll be adding a lot of sriracha to it so it tastes like something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Love it! Use stir-fried tofu instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I've cooked it twice, the first time was really tasty just following the recipe exactly and the second time I slightly altered it to our taste. We prefer things pretty spicy so I like doubling the curry paste (could be that I have a milder brand), I increase the mushrooms, add green onions in the beginning as well as the end, and add a bullion cube. Definitely a keeper that you can modify to fit your individual taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Love the soup! I changed things up a bit I didn't have lemon grass and green onions. I added an onion, increased mush to 8 oz fresh and added more garlic. Used full fat coconut milk. I cut up the noodles. would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
So flavorful! I left our the lemongrass simply because I couldn't find any, and it was still absolutely perfect! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States