Thai Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I had to make some changes because I didn't have lemongrass or chile peppers...added lemon zest and juice of a half of lemon, sprinkled with crushed red pepper and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. What an interesting soup! I also added a can of straw mushrooms and 1 thinly sliced carrot. Next time I am going to add coconut milk instead of sour cream to give it more of a thai taste. Adjust the amount of vinegar and heat to your liking. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was one of few recipies which I could not imagine how the dish would come out until I actually make it...this is a very good sour-spicy soup. Even though I made it only with cucumbers following the recipe, I think I can add other vegetables, like mushrooms and carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was great, but I did change the recipe so this review might not be too helpful. I had some spicy homemade vegetable stock on hand, so I used that and left out the chile peppers. I also used tangerine zest instead of lemon grass because that is so hard to find. I recommend this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make it again. Great for using up those summer cucumbers! Very easy and fast prep if you're good with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVER13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Excellent cold soup the next day. Wasn't too impressed with it just cooked, the next day cold it's wonderful! To make it a hardier soup I add mushroom and carrot like the other reviewer suggested. I also thought it was not hot enough. I wouldn't de-seed as suggest , but leave the seeds in and add even more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I wouldn't have dreamed of a hot cucumber soup, but with the fish sauce taste it works for me. I used 4 cucumbers and seeded them, and two serrano peppers rather than 3 (seeded). I skipped the lemongrass as none was on hand. I used a little extra chicken stock and no water, and used an immersion blender right before adding the sour cream to give it a nice texture - but stopped when there was still some cucumber chunks. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Not good at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!!! Usually test recipes before a dinner party, but what the heck. Followed it to the T and it was delicious! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I used this recipe minus the butter and used it as a healthy snack. Enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
awesome! i luv anything Thai and this was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States