Thai Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I did 5 c chicken broth and 1 can coconut milk instead of 4 c broth, 2 c water, and 1/2 c sour cream. I also forgot the butter. Other than that, I made as written and was surprised at how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
i was very pleasantly surprised by this recipe.. didn't feel it needed the sour cream.. wish i would have had the fresh chile peppers.. tried to use dried.. but it didn't work.. yet the soup was still very tasty.. used all cilantro no parsley.. the extra cup of water wasn't necessary for me.. i did blend it and it came out like a nice thick broth.. perfect for sipping.. ty for the recipe~~~~UPDATE: came out super tasty with the fresh peppers as expected.. this time i used a combination of zucchini and cucumber.. i cut this recipe in half and used 2 serrano peppers w/o removing the seeds/vein.. used all parsley this time.. used white onion instead of green and fresh ginger.. absolutely loved this and it still didn't need the extra water or sour cream.. ty again for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Initially made it as written, and it was ok. Actually that's not true, the only change I made was to use lemon juice instead of lemon grass (not the same I know, but I live 25 miles from the nearest Asian market, and I had all the other ingredients.) However, after playing around with the ingredients, this ended up being easily one of the best soups I have ever made. I think the biggest improvement was adding a can of coconut cream -definitely recommend that! I also did my usual thing of using my immersion stick blender on half of the soup. Really awesome! Thanks, Dayna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wonderful! I loved it & the family did too!! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!!! Usually test recipes before a dinner party, but what the heck. Followed it to the T and it was delicious! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I used this recipe minus the butter and used it as a healthy snack. Enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
awesome! i luv anything Thai and this was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I had to make some changes because I didn't have lemongrass or chile peppers...added lemon zest and juice of a half of lemon, sprinkled with crushed red pepper and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. What an interesting soup! I also added a can of straw mushrooms and 1 thinly sliced carrot. Next time I am going to add coconut milk instead of sour cream to give it more of a thai taste. Adjust the amount of vinegar and heat to your liking. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Not good at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Excellent cold soup the next day. Wasn't too impressed with it just cooked, the next day cold it's wonderful! To make it a hardier soup I add mushroom and carrot like the other reviewer suggested. I also thought it was not hot enough. I wouldn't de-seed as suggest , but leave the seeds in and add even more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States