Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Pretty good.... I prefer Adrienne's cucumber salad a *tad* better (both have a sweet-tart taste), but really enjoyed the uniqueness of this one. The jalapeno, peanuts and (especially) the cilantro were nice touches. My neighbor commented that she could barely taste the jalapeno tho (I agree). She asked what the green "thingies" were, and when I told her jalapenos, she was surprised. :) NOTE: DO NOT omit the peanuts. They may seem odd, but add an interesting texture (and taste!) that just can't be beat. Ditto for the cilantro. While I'm glad to have given this a try, I do not cook this type of cuisine often and therefore will probably not add this to my recipe box. Thanks for sharing, camp0433! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for a pot-luck, and it went fast; I almost didn't get a taste! At first I thought the rice vinegar/sugar dressing was rather bland, so I added a tablespoon of chili paste with basil leaves, which you can get at an asian grocery store. I also added sliced red peppers and crispy rice noodles to the salad, and it was wonderful! This is my new favorite salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Soaking the cucumbers in salt for 30 minutes boosted the flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarvinKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did not have peanuts but I replaced them with pine nuts and it was still very good! Light and refreshing! We paired it with some cilantro fried rice and pork-excellent combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great salad for picnics!!! Refreshing and just enough tang to make it good.. My mom even took this recipe from me and is using it as her own :) I have to admit I used more peanuts in mine though, i just like peanuts..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this for a Thai pot-luck dinner and everyone LOVED it... I do recommend halving the dressing as other folks have posted, way to much dressing to salad ratio. I also added a small diced red pepper for color (also recommended by other posts that I read)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed this recipes exactly and it was a big hit at a family barbecue. I have already been asked to make it again for the next party! Simple to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti Dawn Kemmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Such a fresh flavor. The extra juice at the bottom makes a wonderful salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Pretty good but way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Gaylord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Delicious! I would have given a 4.5 if possible. The only reason I gave lower than a 5 is because I changed it quite a bit by adding in radish, onion and used red wine vinegar. I also, unfortunately, didn't use peanuts since I had none in the pantry. Great salad for a summer evening with fresh garden cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Side Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States